collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Manicure
Monday, Mar. 03, 2003, 1:37 p.m.

Question: What is the alternative to learning Vietnamese?

What I Learned: Just drink your coffee and relax.

I went to get a manicure yesterday. I see it as an inexpensive form of relaxation therapy. Add a Starbuck�s Toffee Nut Latte and the troubles trickle away even faster. For a few minutes someone is taking care of me. What a nice change of pace. At home, it seems like no sooner do I start something than someone is calling my name or interrupting my train of thought � it is like a forced form of ADD. Here in this little shop, I finally slow down.

For a long time it was hard not to get a bit annoyed at the chit-chat that would go on between the manicurists while they were working. The conversation seemed to move like a wildfire - leaping from station to station and even across the room - getting louder and louder as it went. I must admit, I felt a little left out since it was all going on in Vietnamese and a knowledge of foreign languages is not one of my great strengths. I also realize that it is probably quite a chore to carry on idle conversation with every client in an ESL basis � so I can�t say I blame anyone. It is just that there really is very little interaction with the client at all except in the form of pointed directions or direct questions. Pick a color. Sit here. Wash your hands now. You want to pay? You want your brows done too? That sort of thing. All the loud chatter was distracting and seemed to take away some of the recuperative power of the whole process. It added noise to the peaceful few minutes I needed. It also seems a tad rude somehow. I don�t think it is meant to be however.

Yesterday, I just finally let it go. Instead of resisting it, I just decided that I would look at it as part of the whole experience � even if it wasn�t the way I preferred. I would look at it as part of the ambiance. It worked this way � the Asian version of Latin music pumping through the speakers, the picture of the waterfall that actually rushed along with realistic sound effects of running water and birds singing, the Starbuck�s coffee cups littering the tabletops, the manicurists' conversations rising and falling like noisy waves at the beach, the smell of polish in the air, the winter sun shining through the glass storefront windows.

When I left I felt a bit more ready for the workweek ahead and a little more refreshed than I had expected. I had escaped the tasks of the weekend for a bit and was even able to read an article in the latest Cosmo about the importance of female friendships while my nails were drying.

Coffee, pink nails, and being a Cosmo girl for 5 minutes. How can you not like it?

3 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry