collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

Visit thespark

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Favorite Month x 3
Thursday, Jan. 18, 2005, 1:22 a.m.

QUESTION: Who doesn't love summer?

WHAT I LEARNED: Summer is my season.

Suburban Island posts on thespark in response to the question: What's your favorite month of the year, and why?

What's my favorite month? Do you really think I could just pick one? Impossible.

I love the summer months. Yes, all of them. June, July, and August. I wait for them all year long with great expectation.

June is the month that the kids get out of school for their summer vacation and so it screams �no more paper, no more books, no more teacher�s dirty looks.� From a mother�s perspective it promises about 10 weeks of not dragging kids out of bed for school every morning, avoiding the exhausting process of supervising homework, and skipping the potential for the dreaded last minute project that was forgotten in the fray. What makes June really stand out for me is the time it has given me with my daughter. For a number of Junes now I have taken my daughter along with me to a conference that I have to attend for work. I came up with the idea of taking her along to a conference when she was about 12 (she's now 18) and it has turned out to be a wonderful highlight of the summer and a magical mother-daughter time.

July is a favorite for me because it is the month in which both of my kids were born, because there are fireworks to be enjoyed, and because the weather is so warm and the days are so long. What makes it even better these last few years is that I also have to attend a July conference for work and I have been able to bring my daughter along with me for that trip as well. It is just so much fun. I hope that she will hold these trips as golden moments between us as mother and daughter and do something like this with her own kids.

August is a favorite for me because this is the month during which we always take our vacation at the beach - right before school starts up and life gets maxed out again. It�s when the sun is hot and shining and I feel the excitement of knowing that I will have a week of sitting in a lounge chair reading novels all day and walking along the boardwalk in the evenings. It is a nice time to be together with family. We all relax. The expectation of autumn and the start of school make August something that I miss before it's gone.

Summer holds the sweetest months.

9 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry