collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

New Year's Eve 2003
Wednesday, Dec. 31, 2003, 9:16 p.m.

QUESTION: Is it Midnight yet?

WHAT I LEARNED: Buy 2 containers of the crab dip.

Some people like to party on New Year's Eve. Every year plenty of people go stand out in the freezing cold in NYC to see that glittering ball drop into the New Year. Somewhere people are dancing to various and sundry strains of Auld Lange Syne. Parties are a-plenty if you are in the mood to dress up and head out for a night of being social and charming by turns.

I am not going to be freezing my butt off in a square waiting to greet the New Year. Nor will I be dancing to Auld Lange Syne in any of its incarnations. I will not be heading to parties-a-plenty tonight either. I have other plans.

I know that this is best because on arriving home tonight from dinner with friends, I noticed that I had my good black pants on inside out - a side effect of racing to get dressed to go out while my husband repeatedly shouts up the steps - is everybody ready? I'm hoping the seam running up the leg made it look like I was hip to some new fashion trend instead of just being a victim of a dark room and failing to follow a basic fashion mandate - the pre-departure mirror check.

Why tempt fate after that episode? I'm staying home to a wonderful evening inside instead. I intent to incorporate some New Year's Eve standards into my night at home. For instance, a bottle of that infamous pink champagne - the darling of every supermarket endcap in America - Andre - will be making an appearance at my house. While my husband is now watching a COPS marathon, he has assured me better times are coming. I happen to know that that will be a viewing of National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation - a modern holiday classic if there every was one. I have also invested in some party food for the family - although the kids are already heading out for New Year's Eve hilarity that doesn't include Mom and Dad for at least a few hours.

Our New Year's Eve spread goes well beyond the rosy Andre's pink champagne. I have invested in chips and french onion dip, crab newburg dip, buttery lobster and seafood dip, a selection of fine crackers, a port wine cheese ball, cheese cubes too, and all the leftover candy from the Christmas stockings. I would be remise in not also noting the final addition to this bounty � an oversized slice of carrot cake - seven layer � that my husband picked up on the way home from the pants-inside-out in a crowded restaurant incident.

There's nothing like a proper New Year's feast, if you ask me. I feel totally prepared now.

In a few minutes, I'm going to put on my dorm pants with the skiing reindeer, throw on a soft cozy sweater, slip my feet into my new Sponge Bob slippers (hazardous for walking but super-warm when worn while stationary - thanks for these go to my son who knows about my addiction to all things Sponge Bob), grab the sofa, and break out the Andre.

Before I go forth to ring in the New Year, I would just like to say -

Tonight, crab dip and champagne. Tomorrow, resolutions and coffee.

11 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry