collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Considering Christmas Just Past
Sunday, Dec. 28, 2003, 4:28 p.m.

QUESTION: Does anyone else sing carols in the shower?

WHAT I LEARNED: The pain of childbirth is somewhat compensating by said kids' participation in the gift-wrapping process.

So Christmas is a done deal for most of us by now. I admit that we still have to drive up to my parents next week for a post-dated Christmas visit and I�ll admit that I don�t have everything together for that visit but I�ve been busy basking in the glow of Christmas Just Past. Just like Mr. And Mrs. Claus � I�ve earned some down time.

xmas card image by Tom Browning from www.christmasshop.com

I am a Christmas season fan but even with days off before Christmas to work on holiday tasks, I still felt over-busy and a bit more rushed than anticipated this year. There are so many holiday related duties and chores to accomplish during this festive season. Now for some folks this means:

  • Baking and baking and baking;
  • Mega-decorating � inside and out;
  • Wrapping gifts with care;
  • Entertaining graciously;
  • Looking fit and beautiful in tasteful holiday outfits;
  • Writing personalized notes on every Christmas card;
  • Making room for charity at this special time of year � perhaps visiting the poor, the old, the downtrodden;
  • Cleaning an already clean home so that it sparkles like a holiday jewel;
  • Caroling round the neighborhood;
  • Planning a fabulous Christmas Day dinner;
  • Hitting midnight mass.

I admire these individuals. My accomplishments over the holiday season were a bit different:

  • Saying - what�s wrong with convenience? - as I buy the pre-baked pies at the supermarket;
  • Replacing the decorative outdoor flag featuring a turkey and cornucopia with our Christmas flag by the third week in December;
  • Encouraging the kids to wrap as many gifts as possible � hey, I�ve done my time;
  • Dodging entertaining opportunities like Superman dodges a speeding bullet;
  • Finding my $1.99 jingly Christmas earrings to wear on Christmas Day and stopping at Kmart to purchase a damn nice looking faux-fur-collared knit sweater for those special upscale holiday events at which I must make an appearance;
  • Writing out Christmas cards on the evening of December 23rd � thanks everyone for putting return addresses on those cards and letters;
  • Riding myself of all my pocket change as I run the gauntlet of Salvation Army red kettles posted outside of every store in town;
  • Getting the house clean enough to put up last minute decorations and one just-rescued tree on the weekend before Christmas;
  • Singing carols in the shower;
  • Planning to attend a friend�s Christmas Day open house with fabulous dinner included;
  • Hitting midnight mass.

And how was your holiday season?

4 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry