collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Slip and Fall
Thursday, Nov. 11, 2004, 11:31 a.m.

QUESTION: Did you hurt anything beyond your dignity?

WHAT I LEARNED: Buy some sandpaper and use it.

The clothing faux pas seems to be my major claim to glory this week and last. This morning I threw myself together, rushed out the door, stopped at the coffee shop, and drove into work. Halfway through the morning, I looked down and wondered why my pants looked so funny. Perhaps it was because they were inside out. Have you ever noticed that when you are trying to make a beeline for the bathroom people will pop up from behind workstations screens and suddenly emerge from doorways and clamp their eyes on you with intent to speak? I have and so I walked fast with my head down until I made it to the ladies room and remedied my exposed seam situation.

That�s one to-do on my list that I didn�t even know needed doing. I hope the rest of the day goes more smoothly.

On another tragic fashion note, last week I wore my fabulous new shoes. Yes, they were beautiful new kitten heel shoes that looked chic and ultra-professional. I was proud of myself for finally adding some new footwear to my work wardrobe, which had gotten down to 3 pairs of shoes � black, black, and black. I went to a client open house in the new shoes and I was really feeling put together. The bag, the shoes, the suit, the scarf all made me feel that finally I was the picture of the professional woman.

Luckily no one had a camera when, on the way out of the building, my new shoes betrayed me badly. The slippery marble floors and my new shoes created a classic banana peel scene minus the banana. Suddenly I was on the floor and my professional look took a major dive. I hurt my knees and yanked everything from shoulder to neck but I hurt my dignity most of all. Those brand new shoes took on a whole new aspect and as yet I have not worn them again.


Am I the only one that suffers these slings and arrows of outrageous fashion?

11 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry