collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Friday Five - Immediate Past
Friday, Mar. 07, 2003, 10:29 p.m.

Question: Why do I also feel so FRIed by Friday? Is it a cosmic joke?

What I Learned: I have more to do this weekend than I thought.

1. What was the last song you heard? Actually it was a whole album. You see, I have been thinking about elevator music lately. The kind that used to get played everywhere (including elevators) and is the original easy listening music. I was telling my dad about my elevator music cravings � stress meter is in the red zone � and how I couldn�t figure out how to find the stuff. Wouldn�t you know it � he had the answer for me, having lived in the time of such things. He told me about how he used to have some Jackie Gleason 45s back in the heyday of easy listening music and they were pretty good listening indeed. Good listening is good enough for me, but Jackie Gleason � I thought he sang. I stand corrected. He orchestrated some of the best moody smooth easy listen albums every pressed. I have been listening to a double classic album set � Music for Lovers Only and Music to Make You Misty. Talk about chilling out!

2. What were the last two movies you saw? The Bourne Identity and How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days. Boils down to one suspenseful spy flick and one cute chick flick. My pick � the chick flick.

3. What were the last three things you purchased? 1. That Jackie Gleason Album noted above (now playing). 2. A birthday lunch for my dad in a little German restaurant that has been around the city forever and has the most amazing traditional German food. All your snitzels and brautens appear here. Don�t ask how many side dishes were ordered but suffice it to say that there was a lot of starch on the table and it was might good starch too. 3. An Irish Cr�me coffee � skim with sweetener instead of sugar and no whip. It�s a Lent thing. It may be good for my girlish figure too. Why not kill two birds with one stone?

4. What four things do you need to do this weekend? 1. Wrestle with technology. 2. Set up a diary site for my dad � he has some fabulous stories to tell, adventures behind him, and ideas to share and I want to help him get it captured and organized. I must share the online diary bug! 3. Get poster frames for my youngest kid�s room, so we can hang up the very cool car posters he picked out to adjust the d�cor of his room from kid haven to teen scene. 4. Try to figure out what my to-do list really looks like. This may take the most work of all.

5. Who are the last five people you talked to? Two best friends � one long distance and one local. Two great kids � both have something to say, things to do and places to go. One dad over lunch � now that�s the way to do it. That makes 5. Oh yeah, and my husband, but since that conversation was a somewhat grating litany of chores done/undone, I am not putting this conversation in my group of 5 last talked to. He�ll need to think of something more charming to talk to me about if he wants to make my list next time!

2 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry