collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

REMARKABLE: My son is now 14!!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Happy Birthday, Kid!
Wednesday, Jul. 02, 2003, 11:46 p.m.

QUESTION: Which way to the roller coasters?

WHAT I LEARNED: Don't wait until the night before to find the poncho.

Tomorrow is my youngest kid's birthday. He is turning 14. I am accompanying him and 3 other kids to a local theme park. There, the kids will immediately disengage from me and my credit card until refueling times - 12 noon and 4.

Other regular contact will be required by cell phone at scheduled intervals. Inbetween, I plan to wander around the park. That sounds kind of sad, doesn't it? It won't be too bad though. Actually, I'm kind of looking forward to it.

There are some advantages to being at a theme park on your own:

  • I don't have to go on any rides that I don't like,
  • I can sit in the shade and watch the crowd go by as long as I please,
  • I can hang around the gift stores without having to buy one thing for someone else,
  • I can see the shows that no one else will ever stop to watch,
  • I can say hello to every cartoon character that happens by without feeling silly,
  • I can tune in to the personal peace and quiet that can often be derived even amidst the roar of the coasters,
  • I can enjoy having people talk to me who aren't asking me for money to play the arcade, purchase food, or buy junk to commemorate their trip to the park,
  • I can use my time in the single-riders-only line to check out some of the goofy interactions between couples and remind myself that being with someone isn't always what it's cracked up to be,
  • I can take lots of pictures without everyone whining for me to hurry up,
  • I can get some exercise and quasi-fresh air,
  • I can revel in the fact that I got the day off from work and I'm laptop-free.

I think I'm going to like this upcoming excursion. Of course, there is a sleepover afterwards but 12 hours of walking around a theme park should build a nice level of exhaustion into that equation.

The wildcard is the weather. It's supposed to rain. If I can dig it out, I'm bringing a nice plastic poncho with me. I won't hesitate to wear it either. Everyone looks kind of goofy in a poncho but that's never stopped me. A little parental goofiness is expected of me after all. And I certainly don't want to disappoint the kids.

DETAILS: Coffee: a nice hot latte to drive away the raindrops + Listening to: birthday planning + Observing: building birthday excitement + Thinking: When did he get to old for a bowling party? + Weather: rain all day

Today�s Suburban Strategy: Do Not Call List - did you register yet?

5 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry