collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Suction Cup Situation
Tuesday, Dec. 09, 2003, 9:14 p.m.

QUESTION: Are you suction cup savvy?

WHAT I LEARNED: Hide the suction cups.

Consider the simple suction cup. With it you can hang a nice Christmas wreath on the door, hang a angel suncatcher in the window, or perhaps stick it on your forehead in a moment of boredom to discover that you are going to need just a little more make-up in the A.M.

Ask my daughter.

We couldn't figure out why she had a big round splotch on her forehead. Was it Ash Wednesday already? Had I missed all of Christmas through some holiday time warp? Was it a symptom of some new strain of the flu? I knew we should have gotten those flu shots earlier in the game. Had the sugarplum fairy taken a pot shot at her? We didn't know. She didn't know. Many questions were asked as we tried to track down the round bruise on her forehead. What could it be?

Oh, could it be? Is it possible? I did stick that suction cup on my forehead while I was watching TV. I was bored - so says my daughter.

Yes, dear - that would do it - say mom and dad. We are laughing. I am glad I did not miss Christmas, it wasn't Ash Wednesday, there was no mysterious flu symptom, and the sugarplum fairy was employed in more uplifting tasks than tossing sugarplums at sleeping teenagers.

How did I know it would make a mark on my head? - she responds quite sensibly.

You have to learn some things the hard way - my son tells her wisely, as he fondly retells the time he stuck two suction cups arrows on his checks and developed a serious case of puffy-cheeks as a result.

And I hate to admit it but once I stuck a suction cup on my forehead too in an idle moment - with similar result. And I was old enough to know better.

4 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry