collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Remote Crisis
Saturday, Jul. 31, 2004, 1:42 p.m.

QUESTION: Where's the remote control?

WHAT I LEARNED: Look under the sofa cushions.

So far today I have done none of the things I set out to do and many of the things that other people want to do. The good news is that I did get a venti skim iced white chocolate mocha latte out of it. I have learned to be grateful for the small gifts life provides in the chaos of daily living.

The big newsflash in our house is the finding of the remote control. Evidently, not being able to find the remote control for the TV is akin to a disaster of nuclear proportions from my husband's perspective. He was in a state of severe remote-deprivation last night before bed. It was making him grumble and making me glad that I had to drive around for 45 minutes looking for the new movie theater complex that a bunch of kids including my son had gone via the chauffeuring services of another harried parent several hours earlier.

Driving around lost in the dark of night while trying to read incorrect directions and taking direction correction calls from multiple sources was a much better alternative than the eternal hunt for the lost remote control. There was a big full moon overhead and I had a nice new CD to enjoy as I drove around looking for my kid and fulfilling my parental duty to be available as a shuttle service in the evening hours for the non-driving member of the household.

This escape from the quest for the remote control was especially pleasing to me because the frantic hunt comes with an annoying soundtrack provided by desperate-for-channel-changing-capabilities husband that I must listen to until the remote is discovered. The soundtrack is a cool mix of sighs, punctuated with statements like - why does everything get lost in this house. All of this is interspersed with interesting observations about all the failings of our household as a whole. Evidently, these shortcoming are made doubly annoying by my husband's lack of ability to switch channels on cable while saying repeatedly - nothing is on tonight.

A man's needs his remote. A woman needs him to find it.

This morning he did find it. Where was the remote? Good question.

It was right under a cushion on the sofa where he had been sitting last night watching cable TV.

Another household mystery successfully solved.

DETAILS: Coffee: venti white chocolate mocha on ice + Listening to: channel surfing noises + Observing: list of undone chores + Thinking: Why isn't there any diet coke left in the house? + Weather: perfect summer day.

Today�s Suburban Strategy: Got photo options?

Today's Featured Scenic Cam: Lake District Tranquility.

3 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry