collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Once I Was Cool
Wednesday, Oct. 13, 2004, 4:12 p.m.

QUESTION: Got fashion sense?

WHAT I LEARNED: Once I was fashionable.

Yesterday we had candy at our staff meeting. It slightly dulls the pain of sitting around a conference table at 3 in the afternoon. The big candy curiosity was the Reese�s Inside Out Peanut Butter Cups. What will they think of next? Everybody had to weigh in on the peanut butter cup issue. Was the chocolate more chocolate-y or more peanut-y? No one could agree. What about the consistency of the chocolate and peanut butter? Was tradition the best route for the peanut butter cup or did novelty win the day? We never came to a real consensus.

This wasn't the last appearance of inside out food this week. Today I went out to a restaurant for lunch. What did I see on the menu but an inside out turkey sandwich. How does that work? It�s like reversible edibles are coming into their own. Haven�t I seen inside out pizza. I think I have. Maybe it�s a new food fashion trend.

What will go inside out next? I hope it�s not � meatball subs, or ice cream sandwiches, or ravioli, or soft-boiled eggs, or PBJ sandwiches. We can only hope.

Talking about trends. I am glad that I have finally beaten my fashion fantastic daughter to the fashion punch. She is buying legwarmers � something I purchased during the Flashdance days like they were going out of style, which they did for many years despite the fact that they were warm and cozy in the winter weather. Now a new generation has discovered the warm fuzziness of the leg warmer.

I had quite the collection of legwarmers in my day and I do not believe my daughter will be able to rival its first edition glory with this new generation of leg warming gear. Yes, once I was cool. Once I played my Flashdance album on my stereo way too loud. Once I scrunched up my leg warms with the best of them.

I�m feeling nostalgic.

DETAILS: Coffee: caramel macchiato + Listening to: radio sounds+ Observing: leaves starting to change color + Thinking: I want peanut butter cups + Weather: it's getting cooler in the mornings.

Today�s Suburban Strategy: Quit it.

Today�s Scenic Cam: Enjoy a view of the Olympic Mountains.

10 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry