collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

REMARKABLE: Evian Water in the 32 ounce bottle

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Healthy Living
Wednesday, Jun. 18, 2003, 7:54 a.m.

QUESTION: Who doesn't love their bed?

WHAT I LEARNED: Good health doesn't come easy.

Yesterday, I was so tired that I could have sworn my bed was calling me in a little siren-song, warm-blanket, fluffy-pillow sort of voice. I was afraid to go into the bedroom because just walking by that bed was such a temptation. I didn't dare make the bed as I was certain to fall into it and drop into a deep, satisfying, day-consuming sleep. It reminded me of the movie Haiku Tunnel (a wonderfully funny movie) in which the main character, Josh Kornbluth, talked about lusting for his bed and not caring if anyone talked to him or not as they would only interrupt his contemplation of it. Yesterday, I lusted for my bed.

Maybe it is a delayed response to the hectic trip to NYC last week, but just walking through the house and viewing the normal disorder of the morning was exhausting. I just couldn't muster up the energy to do the dishes that weren't even mine, pick up the empty cans of coke that I didn't drink, or straighten up the sofa that I didn't get to sprawl on. My feet felt heavy. My body felt heavy. My brain felt heavy. It wasn't even 8 o'clock in the morning. I foresaw a long day.

Where are your multiple vitamins when you need them? Not already coursing through your system if you are like me. Mine are tucked tidily on a shelf in one of the kitchen cabinets just in case I might want to break down and take them at some point. Not a day goes by when I don't forget all about them or remember them for a fleeting instant only to decide it is just too much effort to go upstairs/downstairs at that instant and take them.

All those healthy things I need to do - all left undone. I really must get it together.

Here's my list of healthy living daily basics:

  • Take vitamins
  • Drink 8 glasses of water
  • Get 8 hours of sleep
  • Get some exercise
  • Eat healthy meals

How hard can this be? Evidently, for me, it's like climbing Mt Everest.

How am I doing on the list above?

  • We know about the vitamins. They say you pee most of them away anyhow.
  • 8 glasses of water - does any form of liquid count like iced tea, coffee, and diet coke?
  • 8 hours of sleep - I'm lusting for my bed again.
  • Exercise - let me work up to this one by parking further from the coffee shop and removing the clothes that have accumulated on the Nordiktrak
  • Healthy meals - does that mean I have to cook?

So today, I am making up my mind to tackle all of this starting now. I am breaking out the vitamins, going to the store to bring home the healthy stuff, and putting some big bottles of water in the fridge. I am putting away the clothes that are hanging artfully on the Nordiktrak. I am going to eat some of the healthy stuff I brought home from the grocery earlier in the day. And finally, I am going to go to bed at a reasonable hour tonight if I have to shut down the power grid to do it.

Tomorrow, I will be a healthier person. At least in a marginal sort of way.

A person's got to start somewhere.

DETAILS: Coffee:tea today + Listening to: a squirrel trying to chew through a plastic birdfeeder + Observing: a list of good intentions + Thinking: Just do it + Weather: damp

Today�s Suburban Strategy: Want a clean house and a pet?

8 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry