collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Weekend Whoosh!
Monday, Aug. 09, 2004, 11:18 a.m.

QUESTION: Where do the weekends go?

WHAT I LEARNED: I'm getting more done than I think.

The weekend has passed and I stand here as the smoke clears wondering - what did I do? My chore list is untouched. I have no idea what is on it and I am a bit afraid to refresh my memory by reviewing it. I know only that immediate tasks overcame the great dreams of great things that my list held in store for me to accomplish this weekend. What we did do was quite a bit � just different bits.

First, we waved goodbye to my daughter as she headed off to the Outer Banks or as she calls it OBX. That's the cool talk that I don't get in on until after everyone else has already got it integrated into their normal speech patterns. For instance, Spritopias tells me that flip-flops, the wearing of which constitutes one of my favorite aspects of summer living, are according to Kipp, now called JFKs. How did I miss that? What does it mean?

Second, we have celebrated my husband's birthday with bunches of helium balloons � which were rather large and might have traumatized him somewhat, and a dinner out, and some little gifts with the promise of some present shopping in Orlando.

Which brings me to the third thing we got done, more of the trip preparations for our vacation to Orlando next week. I am so excited. The suitcases came out of the shed this weekend. We are really thinking vacation time now. I am the one that orchestrates these junkets so I spend ridiculous amounts of time obsessing over the details. Over the months I have pondered Orlando; pouring over websites for theme parks, lodgings, discount airline ticket sites, and cheap rental cars. I have considered the family preferences regarding every aspect of this trip from which theme parks to visit to what restaurants to target for some good eats. What it all shakes down to is that we are a Disney family and we are doing the Disney parks. Running around the Disney parks, and having a few free days to do what strikes our fancy once we get down to Orlando, should make for our idea of a great family vacation. It�s all scheduled on an Excel spreadsheet now with priority seating reservations in place for lunch and dinner and our park days mapped out. Damn, sometimes I�m good.

Upon consideration, I realize that I did accomplish a few other things of note. I carved out some mom/son time with what is becoming a standard weekend event � the Chinese restaurant appetizers for lunch hour with my son. This provides me the what�s-up info in his life and I get some fried dumplings and crab rangoon too. I was also able to visit a pal, shop at Walmart, and do double chauffeur duty for my son and his friends (that�s coming and going driving) on Friday night to a far flung teen-terrific location.

Another weekend gone and done.

Back to the beautiful bag and what was in it. It�s all about the little things.

The Betta Cam

Any Amelie fan, of which I am one, will have to love this very thoughtful and practical gift - my very own little garden gnome. He come with his own patch of grass, tiny flowers for the lawn, and some interchangeable backgrounds including one of the Eiffel Tower - of course. As you can see, I am already having fun with it. Here my gnome is making a little visit to my Betta Cam He's obviously making quite an impression too - looks like he's about to get a kiss from that fish.

Thanks, kid!

DETAILS: Coffee: not yet + Listening to: suburban silence + Observing: my gnome of course + Thinking: I love summer + Weather: strangely cool summer day.

Today�s Suburban Strategy: Campaign blogging for fun and profit.

Today�s Scenic Cam: Have you every heard of Lake Winnipesaukee? I have.

15 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry