collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

A Quiet Saturday Night
Saturday, Nov. 22, 2003, 9:42 p.m.

QUESTION: Why didn't we think of the flashlight angle.

WHAT I LEARNED: Babysitting is profitable.

I'm reading diaries and taking quizzes tonight. One kid is out playing manhunt - don't ask me but there are flashlight involved. It's a PM game because of the whole flashlight thing - the buzz really gets going as it gets good and dark out. I think we played it too when I was a kid but we called it hide and seek, only played it in the summer, and didn't have any battery operated lighting to jazz things up.

My daughter is babysitting tonight and tops it off by a request to spend the night at a friend's house. She sweetens the deal by insisting they will go to church tomorrow - what mom can resist that one? Of course, it's not our church but I'll take it. I am polishing her gold medal this week because even when she found a spoon covered in caked-on ice cream on her white feather down quilt and a half drunk can of diet coke tipped sideways on the floor of her bedroom - the telltale signs that her brother had been in her private domain- her head did not start spinning around in quick little circles while an endless scream emminated from her mouth. I was really impressed. I was a much less forgiving sister.

My husband is in bed upstairs, having just arrived home from 2 days in the hospital for some prostate surgery. But that is another story. One enlarged prostate, 2 days, 4 nurses, and a cast of doctors, residents, medical students, techs. A tiny TV. And hospital food at its finest. That's my story and tomorrow, I'm going to tell it in all it's glorious detail.

6 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry