collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

More Lint
Saturday, Jan. 25, 2003, 10:09 p.m.

Question: Where are the dark socks?

What I Learned: Some bad habits are just annoying.

The white sock battle is not over. No, not even remotely. Yesterday I heard the dryer going. Normally, I would have been lulled by the gentle whirling sound of the dryer as it did its thing. Now, it was like an alarm going of in my brain. My instincts told me to check it out and make it snappy. Not wanted to waste a perfectly good instinct, I did just that.

I yanked open the dryer door and what did I see? Inside are a bunch of the kid�s good dark-colored school clothes AND a bunch of fleecy white socks. I must be hallucinating. Not again. Not the white socks. And it�s escalating now because whipping around with the black and navy clothing are a couple of fluffy beige bath towels too. This could mean war.

I wonder how can someone, in all good conscience, put the white socks in the dark wash - especially having heard my in-depth clothes-sorting lecture? How could it happen? Do I need to hire a special translator or a laundry-minded professional speaker to more effectively communicate my no-white socks-in-dark-loads rule? Is there a color-blindness issue? Can someone really be that color blind? Is it simply an issue of poor eyesight in general? Can a person really miss 6 large white gym socks when they can see the crumbs left behind on the kitchen counter? When someone says that there are no white socks in the wash, does that mean that when they go to look the socks will not be there, even though they tossed them in at the start? Does a dedication to diversity require all clothes that arrive in the laundry room at the same time must be washed together no matter what the consequences? Is it just a habit that can�t be easily broken like cigarette smoking � I�ll just drop the white socks in there this one last time but that�s it? Is it a strategy to ultimately cut down on the water bill as everyone in the family will fear the lint-covered final result and prefer to hang on to their stuff as long as possible before tossing it in the hamper? Or is it just a desire to subtly drive everyone in the family nuts?

Me, I think it�s simply an extremely clever ploy to get out of doing the laundry.

3 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry