collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Unproductive Moments
Wednesday, Jul. 30, 2003, 9:35 p.m.

QUESTION: What's wrong with a little down time?

WHAT I LEARNED: Some days might be better spend in your PJs.

Ever have a day when you sit down at the end of it and think - what did I do today? And you really can't remember - at least anything really bigger than taking out the trash or checking your email.

Today was that kind of day.

All I can really remember is -

  • Dropping off a kid for class,
  • Getting coffee,
  • Checking email,
  • Picking up the same kid from class,
  • Checking diary for notes from Diaryland friends,
  • Watching Haiku Tunnel - one of my favorite movies - and maybe the perfect expression of my I-don't-seem-to-be-doing-anything angst,

  • Paying bills and trying to figure out (and stick to) any sort of reasonable budget,
  • Banging out a puny 15 minutes of practice on the piano for a 1/2 hour lesson - at least now I know what pieces I am supposed to be working on,
  • Answering the phone and answering the phone and answering the phone,
  • Wondering where all the towels went and why no one ever replaces the toilet tissue roll in the hall bathroom when it's empty - an inconvenient thought to occur to one while occupying said bathroom,
  • Eating a microwave meal for lunch and another for dinner,
  • Reading the first 3 pages of Chapter 8 in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone - when everyone else is all the way through book 5 in the series,
  • Making hot tea and drinking diet sodas,
  • Listening to my dad criticize a purchasing decision I had already made - where's the off button on that speech?
  • Wondering if I could buy a soundtrack of the background music on the SIMS game,
  • Realizing that I am not really getting anything done,
  • Giving up and getting into my jammies.

I know I did a few more things but I think I will just stop here, make a nice cup of hot tea, and get back to reading Harry Potter.

5 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry