collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Twinkle Toes
Wednesday, Aug. 27, 2003, 6:16 p.m.

QUESTION: Who am I to argue with success?

What I learned: Gaudy can be nice.

I have sparkle toes and I like 'em. It's true. I got little fake diamond daisies on my big toes before I went to the beach. It was a beach look and it did look delightfully twinkly in the glaring beach sun.

I meant to get rid of the beach pedicure for something more demure when I went back to work at the beginning of last week. I never did. It was a time thing but then I looked down at my toes the other day and as they twinkled up at me, instead of seeing them of a guilty reminder of one more chore undone, I thought - I like the sparkle toes.

I like them in flip flops. I like them in my work sandals. I like them when my feet are propped up on the sofa. I like them when I am sitting in bed reading before I fall asleep.

I taught 2 classes to groups of clients yesterday and they didn't seem shocked by my gaudy pedicure. Today, a couple of my co-workers said how much they liked the look. All of us stood in the elevator lobby starring down at the sparkly daisies on my toes. Yes, I even liked them in the elevator lobby at work and so, it seemed, did at least some of my co-workers.

Maybe they were just being polite but I don't care. I think that maybe I was too quick in my decision to lose the sparkles after all. I think I have stumbled on the perfect summer pedicure.

Why argue with success. Just call me twinkle-toes.

4 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry