collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Tweezer Rules
Monday, Feb. 02, 2004, 10:58 p.m.

QUESTION: Magazine anyone?

WHAT I LEARNED: Bathroom breaks can be harmful to your walls.

My son stayed home from school today. He has bronchitis. My daughter is up in her bedroom watching back-to-back CSI episodes. They�re addictive. I had a McDonald�s fish fillet sandwich with fries and a diet coke for lunch. My son had the double cheeseburger meal. I spent an hour and a half visiting the pediatrician�s office with my youngest. I worked from home all day. A king�s ransom in dry cleaning is hanging on the living room closet door handle. These clothes have been at the dry cleaners since before Christmas. It�s been so long since I�d seen this clothing that I barely recognized them as my own. I am wondering about Janet and her Super Bowl "costume malfunction" today. Lucky for me, my clothes don�t malfunction because I don�t know where to buy those pasties.

Otherwise, I have finally completed my self-evaluation multi-part form for work. Of course, I think I�m doing swell. One thing about self-evaluation is that it takes 10 times more time and effort than when you�re manager just does it and tells you what they think about you and your excellent or sub-excellent self while you sit there and listen. Self-evaluation does allow you to point out your major stellar efforts and achievements and hang them out in the sunlight for all to see and marvel at. With the right manager, it just highlights the value they know you bring to the organization and reminds them of every drop of your goodness in the workplace. For the wrong manager, they just start typing their comments in the little blank spot they get to do their talking. I�ve been blessed with amazing managers the last few years.

Aside from the bronchitis, my son seems to be in pretty good form. Yesterday evening, in a spat of unforeseen boredom, he poked 5 tiny holes in the bathroom wall right above the toilet paper spinner and right below a picture of a 2 clever elephants taking a bath. My husband doesn�t like little holes in the wall, as one can image. I never knew one wall could become such a family focal point � especially a bathroom wall. What did I know?

the real elegant elephants in tub print that graces our master bath

Now, I love a good bathroom break too but there are limits. Walls and tweezers must not be abused. That�s why I stick to reading any National Enquirer, Star, or Globe I�ve succumbed to at the grocery checkout aisle, or stand and look at my face in a 5x mirror so I can be aware of every flaw up close, or stick to basics like brushing my teeth and such. Yes, I love the bathrooms in our house. How could I not? A bathroom is the only peaceful room in the house some days � a real sanctuary of sorts, a poor man�s library, a beauty parlor, a spa - at least until someone starts standing outside the door calling my name as often happens to mothers in the course of their day. A bathroom is not, I repeat not, a room to poke holes in - however tiny and few those hole may be.

My lessons? Don�t leave the $20 sharp-nosed tweezers I got for Christmas where a teenage boy can commandeer them during the standard bathroom break. Additionally, since kids like bathrooms as much as kitchens, as was underlined for me by the popcorn incident, it is good to have an idea how long any kid is in the bathroom enjoying the conveniences of running water, endless piles of magazines, and general bathroom ambience.

His lessons? First, people will notice when you poke the wall with tweezers even if you think they won�t. Second, reading a six-month-old copy of Family Circle or Woman�s Day may be boring but it is definitely a better alternative than anything having to do with sharp tweezers.

Today�s Suburban Strategy: Diet Music...

13 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry