collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Teen Time
Wednesday, Feb. 16, 2005, 8:27 p.m.

QUESTION: Thinking about teens?

WHAT I LEARNED: Fear not.

This morning, my daughter got up and asked me if she could get me a cup of coffee to take to work. Mom, she said with endearing sincerity, would you like me to go get a coffee and bring it back home for you before I go to class? Well, how about that. Well, yes I would.

She drove down to the coffee shop and came back just as I was packed up to go out the door. Waiting in my car was a delightful and delicious large iced skim caramel macchiato � with extra caramel. All those years of childrearing � the sleepless nights, the childhood illnesses, the diaper bags, the carpooling � have suddenly started paying off. Motherhood is not all angst.

I was worried about it in the beginning. When I was younger and thinking about the idea of having children, I remember being terrified of the eventuality of dealing with my kid(s) as teenager(s). What would I do? How would I cope? How much does boarding school cost? Would I be a good mother of teenagers or would having a teenager be the point at which life promoted me to the level of incompetence � a la the Peter Principle? Who could know? Teenagers were terrifying and mystifying and gave me pause to consider my yet untested parenting skills. As we must often do in life, I forged ahead into the great unknown with high hopes and the best intentions and a few butterflies in my stomach.

image by Suburban Island

Now, I have 2 teens in the house � 15 and 18. They are great kids. Every once in a while when the house is calm and one of the kids has done something particularly virtuous, I think to myself � why was I ever so worried about the teenage years? Parenting teens has been a rewarding experience for me overall. Although there have been some "moments". We all have our "moments" though � don�t we? I have learned a lot from my teens and even from their "moments", including the following:

  • Bake it and they will come;
  • Your bad example is their good excuse;
  • No matter what you say, you will always help them with those last minute projects;
  • Some kids think television is good white noise but they are wrong;
  • Never let them turn off their cell phones when they are out and about;
  • Accept that some of their pals� parents may require medication, not speak any English, have questionable business associations, or possess wildly different parenting standards;
  • Never assume � therein lies many surprises, most of which you will not like;
  • It is not okay for you to have a bad day but it is perfectly okay for your kids to have a bad day � this is especially true if you are having a bad day in front of their peers;
  • It is best to shut up and drive when you are charged with chauffeuring teens around � nobody likes a chatty mommy;
  • A messy room is not the end of the world but a messy house will make mommy mighty cranky;
  • Teens can cook pretty good meals out of a box or a bag but they would rather you do it for them because it just tastes better when mom makes it (and then they don't have to do it themselves);
  • Elementary school kids want you to volunteer, high school kids would rather you not do anything of the sort;
  • Words from music lyrics and certain choices pieces of modern slang may become standard responses to parental statements and questions - yo, word, holla, wazzup, chill, tight, way - turn up in conversations unannounced and often unwelcomed. Mom: Clean your room. Kid: Chill. Mom: You need to do your homework. Kid: Word.

Being a parent can be educational. Being a parent can be fun. Being a parent can be frustrating. In the end, being a parent is always an adventure and as Paris Hilton would say, "that�s hot."

9 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry