collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Tick Tock
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004, 11:41 p.m.

Question: A present for me?

What I learned: I am often pleasantly surprised.

Strange but true - the same kids who can't clean up, make you repeat yourself 10 times a day, and have the strange idea that God has provided them with a perpetual servant - you - also are capable of exceptional sweetness and thoughtfulness.

For instance, early last week my kids went shopping together to pick out some school clothes for my son. I appreciated this because it actually helped me out even though it did cost me money at the same time. Big sisters don�t consult on little brother�s school clothing purchases for free you know. Of course, my daughter exacted a finder�s fee � some clothes of her own for the college scene. This is still much better than the classic school clothes-shopping scenario in which I stagger battle-weary and indigent from the local mall laden with bags full of goodies for everyone of school age in the household.

This time, on top of bags of stuff for themselves, the kids had a little bag for me. Inside it was a present � a Sunshine Buddy. My Sunshine Buddy is a little blue creature with a big smile on its face sitting on a patch of plastic green. This plastic pal plopped down on plastic grass perpetually tilts its head back and forth due to the magic of solar power and happy thoughts. It's cute as cute can be and very entertaining too in an office desk accessory sort of way. I certainly appreciate anything that livens up my desk and makes me smile inanely every time I look at it. I give extra points for something that is actually smiling itself like my new little blue buddy.

That�s not all. This past Friday afternoon my daughter brought me home a beaded lanyard for my work badge. I couldn�t wait to show it off at the office. I knew all the kids were going to want one just like it. I'm going to feel like a lanyard-wearing princess every time I slip this beaded baby over my head and set off to another day at work. Career accessories can never be too glamorous as my thoughtful daughter has kindly reminded me with her carefully selected gift for the working mom who desires pizzazz and a little sparkle too.

Perhaps best of all, with the outlay of only $19.99, I have provided my son with the tool to free me from the chore of awakening him for school each morning. He has shouldered this task dutifully and this morning he utilized his new instant weather alarm clock with AM/FM radio, buzzer alarm feature, and NOAA regional weather forecast, with battery backup, to get up without any extensive maternal assistance. A few minutes of sleep is a great gift indeed to the average mother.

Batteries not included.

3 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry