collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Sunday Movies
Monday, Nov. 22, 2004, 12:50 a.m.

QUESTION: Do you want to go to the movies?

WHAT I LEARNED: Take time for family.

There�s nothing like the discount movie theater across the street from the local college that shows the second run movies, a tub of lavishly over-buttered popcorn, a fruit smoothie each, and a couple hours to kill to make Sunday afternoon something special. My son and I have a movie habit and the result has been some great film watching, popcorn nibbling, and smoothie sipping down at our local silver screen.

I like this time with my son to just hang around together. Even the drive down and back gives us time to talk about life and dissect the magic of the film on the flip side of our movie viewing adventure. Part of what makes this such a successful activity for us is that we both like movies and we like so many different sorts of films. Each time we head out to the movies I know it will be a little snapshot of a memory for both of us to file away in our mental scrapbook.

This time we saw Napoleon Dynamite. It was a great film to see with a teenager. There�s a little bit of Napoleon Dynamite in all of us.

Napoleon Dynamite

My husband stayed home and watched the football game instead of going with us to the movies. I was kind of glad because this feels like treasured mom/son time together and dad doesn�t appreciate any film without rapid-fire action as the main ingredient. I know this little patch of time that we now both make for each other to do things like go to the movies will soon be gone. My son gets his learner�s permit in December and we all know soon after that he�ll be cruising down the highway of life and movie time with family will naturally become more difficult to schedule.

My contribution to this bright automotive future is some neon undercarriage lights � which I have been assured will be used only for when the cars is off of course. I have no idea how to wrap them but they arrived last week and emanate a level of automotive ultra-coolness that I never could aspire to in my early driving days.

From the silver screen to the neon glow � life is never exactly as expected for today�s modern mother.

7 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry