collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Saturday Chores - It's Not Just a List
Saturday, Oct. 25, 2003, 10:53 a.m.

QUESTION: When do chores start looking good?

WHAT I LEARNED: A weekend morning is a good morning by its very nature.

I love Saturdays. I am still not focused on having to go back to work so I can just wallow in my chores. Some people might hate chores. Sometimes I am a person hating chores. However, most of the time for me, getting chores done feels much nicer than going to work on Monday. I can do chores in my Winnie the Pooh t-shirt. I can do chores in bare feet or flip-flops. I can do chores after sleeping until 10:00 in the morning. I can do chores while watching hours of Trading Spaces, Clean Sweep, and While You Were Out or maybe while tuned in to an endless stream of kid sitcoms like Even Stevens on Disney. I love that wacky Louis and Ren - she's my efficiency role model. I can do chores until the cows come home or until the wee hours of the morning. They are my chores and I embrace them - in a Saturday morning with coffee kind of way.

Even better - I can stop doing chores. I can stop doing chores and flop on the sofa. I can stop doing chores and go out to eat or see a movie. I can stop doing chores and talk to a friend on the phone. I can stop doing chores and play on the computer. I can even stop doing chores and pretend that I am still doing the chores, thus obtaining some of that oft sought peace and quiet we all long for, at least for a few minutes until somebody catches on. I approach my chores in Saturday mode, which means maybe they will happen and then again, maybe they won't.

So what chore should I tackle first on this beautiful sunny morning - wander around the nursery and find some winter pansies in the crisp autumn air or clean out the piles of files and random papers that came out of my study when I started reorganizing that room last week. Flowers? Files? Flowers? Files?

Hmmm.

I've got to ask myself something - do I feel like a clean sweep today? Well, do I?

I'm getting some coffee and hitting the files. This week, Monday is going to look good.

6 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry