collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

River View and Convenient Parking Too
Wednesday, Oct. 22, 2003, 10:13 p.m.

QUESTION: What�s going on in them there hills?

WHAT I LEARNED: The answer is plenty.

I have just returned from the first college campus visit with my daughter. This is the long road from senior in high school to freshman in college. It is a beautiful road but it is a bit scary too because once on it there is no turning back from the reality that your kid is not really a kid anymore. Monday night we drove over hill and dale, and down long stretches of unlit roads punctuated with yellow triangles warning trucks about steep grades - with nothing but one stop at Panda Restaurant and a visit to the ladies room - until we drew up to the front of our hotel. Ah, our temporary home sweet home, resting grandly along a river, whose name I cannot pronounce or for that matter spell. I can tell you that it is not a big river and it begins with an M � that�s all I know. I was surprised when they told me about the river when I called to make the reservation. I had no idea it would be there. I am geographically impaired.

We are in the mountains and the autumn leaves are falling but we can�t see them because it�s pretty damn dark. Given the 4 hour drive, my idea was to get in the night before, get a good night�s sleep, and do the tour the next day. This reasoning is slightly flawed because I never sleep well my first night in a hotel. We did get to watch an interesting special on the Discovery Channel about hippos until 1 in the morning or maybe it was 2 in the morning. I never knew they could open their mouths that wide. Nature is fascinating any time of the day or night.

I picked the hotel because it shared a parking lot with the university�s visitor center, not because of the river. I am a realist. I know myself and walking across the street to orientation really works for me. It maximizes sleep time and does not leave room for the possibility of some of the most frequent driving mishaps to plague people with appointments to keep - getting lost and not being able to figure out where to park. I felt kind of stupid about springing for the riverfront room at first because by the time we got in it was close to 11 at night and the river in not one of those might river sort of rivers that flows with abandon. It is more of a simple unassuming river without a lot of shimmers, lighted bridges, or dazzling shorelines. In the morning when I yanked back the curtain, I felt maybe the riverfront room hadn�t been such a bad idea after all. The river looked crisp and simple. Beautiful fall foliage lined its banks and sun dripped down from a crayola blue sky onto the dainty perfect green ripples like a picture torn out of a kid�s picture book. Then I was glad that we had the nice view � or at least that we had it for a little while.

Sometimes a little dab will do you. A river and a parking lot to walk across � beauty and convenience � interlocked into the perfect morning.

8 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry