collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Danger - Failing Resolutions Zone
Wednesday, Jan. 14, 2004, 9:47 a.m.

QUESTION: What resolutions?

WHAT I LEARNED: I'm still working on it.

I bet you�re wondering what happened to my 2004 resolutions. Well, so am I. I never quite got them crystallized but already I�m a slacker. Let�s take a few of them and consider my success rate with each. For instance, sleep is a big one for me. Like plenty of modern moms, I am running on minimum rations of sleep. One of my big goals this year is to get to bed at a reasonable time so I can wake up refreshed and rested. Success rate on a work night: A big zero. I swear it�s not my fault either or at least not all my fault. I am a night person and I can sleep until noon on the weekends with ease but every get-to-bed-early effort of mine in the new year during the week has been ruthlessly crushed. By whom? The others - that�s who. They bring me last minute projects revolving around Chinese food cartons and request assistance. They present long worksheets or reams of review handouts regarding science, history, or some great piece of literature with pleading looks. Disordered rooms, sinks full of dishes, and stacks of junk mail have confounded my need for sleep. My own night-owl tendencies betray me. This is going to be a little tougher than I figured.

My next resolution is not doing much better. This is the one about maintaining a healthy diet. It includes taking those vitamins and drinking up those glasses of water while laying off all the fun foods. Thank God we have finally finished off all the damn candy from Christmas. I was developing a proper case of acne the likes of which haven�t visited my skin since my teenage years. Additionally, I no longer am dreaming of slabs of fruitcake (I really love fruitcake) or swigging those fabulous eggnog lattes (I think they�ve finally run out of eggnog at the local coffee joint). I find eight glasses of water a day a difficult task and so I must admit I am still replacing it with other liquids which any dieting pro will tell you doesn�t count towards your water quota. I�m talking coffee, tea, diet soda, and more diet soda and one more latte please. The vitamins � I just pulled them out and put them on the counter last night. If I could just remember to take them � it would be mission accomplished on this one. Success rate: Alarmingly close to zero as well.

There are more resolutions. Many more. But as Scarlet reminds us so succinctly after a particularly unsuccessful day - I�ll think of it tomorrow� after all, tomorrow is another day.

I think I�ll follow her lead on this one.

7 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry