collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Weekend Starts with Pictures
Saturday, Mar. 26, 2005, 11:32 a.m.

QUESTION: Andrew, can you hear me?

WHAT I LEARNED: If you want it done, do it yourself.

This last week has been pretty stressful and busy for me. I am coordinating a big event at work and I really want it to be a success. I feel the pressure and I am bringing it home and trying to tame it with extra work. It's like I am on The Apprentice and everyone is going to judge me on how well this program goes. The only upside is that there are no cameras following me around to record my daily angst as I run around trying to be successful. Wednesday is the day and hopefully all will go well and then this huge weight will come off my shoulders and I will feel a great sense of accomplishment. Until then I am eating, sleeping, and breathing work.

Last night I went to Good Friday services and then I took a break from my office work. I would have loved to sit down and write a diary entry but instead I dedicated myself to reconstructing my diary. I spent my evening reloading my lost images because I just couldn't stand having my diary sit out there on the web like that � suddenly image-less - with big holes in entries all the way back to October. It looked like an electronic swiss cheese of a journal and I could not bear it.

I resolved to give up my foolish hope in a sudden appearance of these images via a Diaryland action. I could not wait any longer for an answer from Andrew, who though overworked right now himself and having lost a dear pet recently as well - should have answered my several polite pleas for image restoration or at least told me I would never see it in my lifetime unless I fixed it myself.

So I started loading. I uploaded 96 images spanning diary entries all the way back to October 10, 2004. That�s a lot of holes in a lot of entries. Then I went to bed � without having time to catch up with my favorite reads or write an entry about my adventures in living this week.


TIP OF THE WEEK:

What is the one most valuable lesson I learned this week? If you have a drink in a cup and you want to go to the bathroom, do not put your drink in your carry-all bag because you do not wish to set the cup on the counter. You will forget about the drink and walk around with it in that bag wondering why you feel like you forgot something. Until the bag starts dripping. Then you will remember. Doing this with a venti iced caramel macchiato with extra caramel is especially tragic and will put you in a bad mood � perhaps for the whole day. Don�t do it. Take it from Suburban Island.

image by Suburban Island

4 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry