collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

Happy 1 Year Diaryland Anniversary to katiedoyle

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Ring in the New
Friday, Oct. 10, 2003, 8:40 p.m.

QUESTION: Where do you go from harvest-gold?

WHAT I LEARNED: Sometimes the check really is in the mail.

Sometimes where an error glares like dime store jewelry around your neck, a small miracle occurs. Sometimes out of nowhere you find yourself with a reprieve or even a vindication where shortly before only a sinking feeling and a pair of slumped shoulder could be spied. Sometimes you find out that the big powerful entities like for instance, the local water authority, can be wrong too. And maybe, just maybe, they can be a little bit more wrong than you.

I found this out yesterday when I discovered that the local water company that had shut off the steady flow of county water to my house, had done so on the same exact day that they cashed my check for such steadily flowing water. Imagine my surprise. Now, image theirs.

Yes, I did call my friend, Malcolm, who had sustained a phone call from both my waterless husband and my waterless self not two days before. Malcolm admitted that indeed our water had been diverted in error and refunding the re-connect fee and the amount we had overpaid for the month. Thanks to Malcolm, I am feeling a little less silly today.

image from www.maytag.com

So as I was saying before I was so rudely interrupted by life as manifested in super-sized work projects and a kid bucking for a season ticket to that station in teenage life know as Being Grounded - it�s refrigerator time. This week ushered in a new age of refrigeration in our house. A era when ice and water spring forth at the touch of a button from a finger-print-proof pristine bisque door, and meat and cheese snuggle together in a real honest-to-God cheese and meat keeper drawer. The sight of glass shelves, and doors that hold liter-sized bottles, and freezer baskets that pull out for easy access, almost blind us with their beauty as we gaze lovingly at the Family Refrigerator Mark II.

Now, no matter how bad my day is, I know I will be coming home to a gracious new friend, a descendant of those great iceboxes and refrigerators that came before. A warrior of the modern kitchen always at the ready to spit ice � two kinds � and guard the temperature of my favorite comfort foods day and night so they will always be at the ready.

image from www.maytag.com

Bisque � it�s the new harvest gold.

Today�s Suburban Strategy: As if taxes aren�t hard enough�

10 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry