collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Friday Five - Names
Friday, Sept. 12, 2003, 11:59 p.m.

QUESTION: What's in a name?

What I Learned: Names - everybody's got one.

1. Is the name you have now the same name that's on your birth certificate? If not, what's changed?

Same first name but the last name has changed. Luckily my parents have long ago stopped calling me by a rather clumsy combination of my first and middle name that they concocted. It didn't sound good the first time they said it and it never grew on me. In fact, I would advise that first and middle kid name combinations should only be used with the greatest caution by any and all parents � especially during the teenage years.

2. If you could change your name (first, middle and/or last), what would it be?

I always loved the name Veronica. I would like to say that it was because of the brave and virtuous Veronica with the veil but it was really Veronica from Archie comics that made me think this was indeed a rather splendid name. Kids.

image from Archie Comics -www.archiecomics.com/

3. Why were you named what you were? (Is there a story behind it? Who specifically was responsible for naming you?)

I was named after my mother, who was named after her mother, who was named after her mother, and so on, and so on, and so on. I am not kidding. The first female child always got my name � which is actually a very nice name when used on its own. Many of my namesakes have led interesting lives and in some cases � died interesting deaths. For instance, one of my namesakes got her sleeve caught in a gristmill and was crushed beneath the stone. Quite a grisly story but supposedly true. She was bringing her husband lunch and in reaching across to hand it to him, met her fate. Luckily she had recently had a daughter to carry on the name. Her husband - after having the stone removed and buried, went out and found himself a new bride.

My dear grandmother, another namesake, was pronounced dead in the hospital with a bad case of double pneumonia when she was a young married mother of 2. My grandfather, terrified of the prospect of dealing with two very young children on his own (one was my mom) threw himself on my grandmother in an outpouring of grief. She said she was drifting down a corridor like a feather at the time and at every door along that corridor a voice said - not here - but when she got to the end, she heard my grandfather�s voice calling her name and someone said � not yet, go back. And she did. She had 3 more children after that and luckily, she had plenty of grandchildren too, including me.

3. 4. Are there any names you really hate or love? What are they and why?

Names are very personal. I may not like a name but I rarely am moved to name hatred. The name of a person who hasn�t been very nice to me can create a negative feeling even when it belongs to someone else totally different from the offender. On the other hand, there are plenty of names I love � like both of my kid�s names. Names can grow on you if I you like the person they are attached to � even bad names can have their charm then.

5. Is the analysis of your name at kabalarians.com / triggur.org / astroexpert accurate? How or how isn't it?

Here�s the answer in a nutshell. Kabalarians got all my good qualities down pat but was totally mistaken in identifying some bad qualities per my given name - impossible. I refuse to do tests showcased on a page with a man sticking out his tongue which is very purple and as such could not bring myself to take the test at triggur. The only thing I can say about my astroexpert results is � what?

Today�s Suburban Strategy: Saying goodbye to old friends...

5 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry