collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Moms Rule
Sunday, May. 09, 2004, 1:50 a.m.

QUESTION: Is breakfast in bed really an option?

WHAT I LEARNED: Mother's Day comes but once a year.

How quiet it is. What will it be like when the routinely noisy, sometimes annoying, often frenetic, always creative, activities of teenagers are replaced with an empty nest and all the quiet I can eat? Tonight is a temporary interlude � a calm in the eye of a storm. My daughter is spending the night at a friend�s home. My son is sick with a good case of spring allergies and consequently is actually upstairs in bed sleeping. I hardly know what to do with myself.

I think I�ll start though with the last thing my son said to me tonight before dropping off to sleep � Happy Mother�s Day, Mom. What a great thing for a mom to hear at just a bit after midnight on this particular Saturday night - the night before our big day. Yes, it�s now officially Mother�s Day and I have to admit that I am feeling rather psyched about it. Tomorrow is a big day for me. I have my own holiday and I don�t take it lightly. Oh, it�s not about all those hours in childbirth, or the hundreds (perhaps thousands of diapers changed). It�s not about having to assist with interminable hours of homework, or preparing all those wonderful dinners (even if some of them were from a box with a big Hamburger Helper label on it). It�s not about watching Cinderella and the Land Before Time at least 50 times each or reading 3 picture books every night to each kid until they no longer desired the reading of picture books at bedtime. It�s about love. It�s about the other 364 days a year.

Also, it�s about getting to eat where I want to eat for once. It�s about blowing off all the household chores and sleeping extra late. It�s about being the recipient of presents and cards that my kids pondered over and succeeded in creating or inducing Dad to purchase. And it�s about the $4,000 vibrating chair that my son truly wishes he could buy me because my back and shoulders are often stiff and sore after a long day at work. It�s about my daughter saying that it doesn�t matter where she wants to eat tomorrow because it�s my day and I get to choose. It�s about my son trying to win a Mother�s Day raffle so he can provide me an exotic trip to someplace that would probably surprise me and require the purchase of a timeshare. It�s about my daughter calling me at 12:30 AM tonight to tell me that she and her friend were going out to Wendy�s and is it okay to spend the money and besides - she didn�t want me to think she was out after midnight when she had said she would be in for the night. Now this is the kind of stuff that makes moms smile.

I love Mother�s Day.

However, my son told me on the QT that my husband passed on buying me the latest Sims expansion pack � an item highly recommended for mom by my 14-year old. The kid was right � he knows that I love the Sims and all those darn expansion packs. I�m not worried though. Tomorrow is Mother�s Day and I think I�ll do a little expansion pack shopping while I�m celebrating the joys of motherhood.

Don�t worry, honey. Father�s Day is just around the corner. Can you say � Hawaiian shirts? The kids and I can.

14 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry