collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Home Again, Home Again Jiggity Jig
Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003, 10:07 p.m.

QUESTION: Or is it Jiggity Jog?

WHAT I LEARNED: Life goes on.

Home again. In the last 36 hours I have:

  • Visited my ailing harvest gold refrigerator and realized that I am going to have to find a new home for our extensive magnet and paper collection,
  • Finally seen the shocking cost of senior pictures up close - over $200 without proofs for senior portraits and that's the lower end price,
  • Accepted the fact that I could never participate in the new show, Clean Sweep because I wouldn't be able to give away any of my junk (especially the good junk) - one guy was talked into giving away the last painting his mother did before she died of cancer by one of the de-clutterers on the show (profit = $25 and some empty wall space),
  • Still not unpacked from a trip that ending Tuesday night thus increasing personal clutter,
  • Discovered that my husband did not do the full Back to School Night class-o-rama while I was out of town by using the timeworn I-thought-it-started-later/I-needed-to-get-home-early excuse for slicing a few classes off the beginning and end of this exhausting and obligitory annual ritual,
  • Made Hamburger Helper by request - yes, it is indeed - Dinner Made Easy,
  • Realized I am now 2 weeks behind on my weekly reports for work instead of 1 week behind,
  • Promised myself a larger more indulgent coffee than usual as an inducement to get out of bed for the last 2 mornings,
  • Been forced to drink Diet Pepsi because my husband brought it home from the store for us - as in us, the family of Diet Coke drinkers.

We may go away for a day or a week but life goes on in our absence. Harvest gold refrigerators, Hamburger Helper, school forms, senior pictures, and a stack of other little life tasks wait eagerly to greet us as we cross back into real life. We might as well give them a hug and dive in. Hamburger Helper anyone?

10 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry