collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

WOW: spritopias links Suburban Island as his diary of they day!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Grocery Shopping Goes Teen
Sunday, Aug. 03, 2003, 1:05 p.m.

QUESTION: Why go shopping yourself?

WHAT I LEARNED: Want milk - get teens.

image from www.fiftiesweb.com

Yesterday I went grocery shopping and I took along my 14 year old son and a nice kid who belongs to a friend of the family - she was visiting for the day. I like grocery shopping and frankly would rather have the main consumers of food in my house - teenagers and their teenage friends - come along and make some food selections.

I find this better than a list because:

  • I lose the list before I get into the store anyway,
  • If we forget anything I can blame the kid/s,
  • Impromptu meal planning is fun - like a Rubik's Cube with calories,
  • Someone else can push the cart,
  • We never forget the coke, the milk, the chips & dip, popcorn, the cookie dough, the brownie mix, the Tuna Helper, the Lipton's noodle soup, or the ice cream when a teen shopper is pushing the cart,
  • Guess who doesn't have to load the stuff onto the check-out counter,
  • Built in helpers reduce mom's chore stress - bags magically get thrown into the trunk and back seat and if mom is on a roll those same bags make it into the house on the other end of the shopping trip without good old mom lifting a finger.

Teenagers - mother's best kept secret for a well-stocked kitchen.

6 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry