collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS - FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 26, 2004
Friday, Nov. 26, 2004, 11:14 p.m.

QUESTION: Did you remember to do your Friday Finds?

WHAT I LEARNED: There's always something to find.

A WORD FOR THE WISE

Looking for a new word or phrase? Word Spy is for you. You�ll be the toast of the holiday party circuit with a few new words and phrases under your belt courtesy of Word Spy.

FACING THE WORLD

I�ve been a fan of Merle Norman cosmetics since I saw their classic before/after ad that features any number of women looking suitably dowdy before and flat out gorgeous afterwards. I have been suffering from Merle Norman product deprivation lately, as the store I usually buy it from is no longer in the mall. I ran out of their creamy pink cleansing cream and have been missing it desperately. This classic cleansing cream is wickedly rich and creamy. If you aren�t a kid anymore this heavy cleaning cream will make your skin feel soft and silky. Indulge yourself.



Rutabagas

There seems to be some curiosity about rutabagas � a staple of my Thanksgiving dinner menu � so I thought I�d share some Rutabaga Recipes and my own special Suburban Island take on the rutabaga recipe.

My recipe is simple and dictated by my mom who introduced me to the homely but delicious rutabaga. Here�s all you do to make perfect rutabagas:

Peel the rutabaga like you peel a potato. It has a waxy covering on it so it peels differently than a potato. You�ll only need one unlike the more popular and smaller potato. Cut it into cubes and throw them into a pot of water. You�re going to boil the rutabaga just like you would boil potatoes for a mashed potato recipe. It will take about 15 � 25 minutes to boil them until they are tender. They�ll be done when you can pierce them with a fork. Pour out the water. Mash them with butter, some milk (or cream), and top it with cracked black pepper. You got rutabagas.

TAKE PICTURES

Buying a camera? We were looking at cameras this weekend for my husband and discovered these two camera review sites. Digital Camera Resource Page and Steve's DigiCams. They both give detailed camera reviews and we found them both very helpful.

DIARY OF NOTE

I have been reading iwantoomuch on Diaryland with regular delight since her high school days and now as she moves into the life of the university student. There is something about this diary that I find irresistible. I love the flow of words and the juxtaposition of ideas that this young diarist brings together in one entry. It�s a purely refreshing read. This entry - Odd Socks � is a great example of that style that is so unique.

6 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry