collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Friday Finds for January 28, 2005
Saturday, Jan. 29, 2005, 4:59 p.m.

QUESTION: Late again?

WHAT I LEARNED: There's a lot to find.

A few Friday Finds on Saturday:

NOW THAT�S SNOW

summer-gale�s snow pictures are something to see. Brrr.

THOUGHTS ON CREATIVE WRITING

augustdreams wrote a compelling entry on the virtues of writing what you love and not necessarily limiting yourself to what you know.

A QUIZ

A visit to irisheyes70 � mom, music-lover/DJ, fellow-coffee lover, and all round diarist of note � yielded this quiz which of course I immediately had to complete and post:

Using Mapquest, how many miles is it from your house to your parents' house?

57.52 miles away, which is about an hour and 9 minutes from where I live (not accounting for traffic).

Google your first and last name, in quotes. How many results were found?

18 listings. Most of them are professional in nature and one is a family tree listing.

What room in your house is too small?

Probably most of them. Living in a suburban split-level house has its advantages � like warmth, intimacy, and charm � but with two teens in tow we could all do with a little more space.

What room is too large?

No room in our house is - or could be - too large.

Name of your third grade teacher:

Sister something. I am afraid I don�t remember and my elementary school class composite shots of happy Catholic kids skips grade three. My first grade teacher was Sister Mary Leo, a name which I think makes up for not remembering Sister Grade 3.

How much money did you make at your first job?

I worked at Montgomery Wards for $1.80 an hour in the summer. Buying a sub for lunch cost me an hour�s pay.

Favorite donut:

Cake donuts, please.

Name(s) of your next door neighbor(s):

Let�s focus on our brand spanking new next-door neighbor - we had a birth in the cul-de-sac this week. Her name is Cierra Marie, 9 lbs., 8 oz., and 21 � inches long. Welcome to the neighborhood, Cierra!

Genre of music you can't stand:

As a rule that genre would be rap. However, once in awhile I find a song or artist that makes me break that rule.

Last thing bid on on eBay:

My last eBay purchase was a pair of designer jeans for my daughter. I have to keep myself from visiting eBay too often or my husband begins inquiring about the number of packages arriving at the house.

How much cash is in your wallet:

A couple bucks and some change and not in a wallet but just thrown in a side pocket of my purse.

SUBURBAN ISLAND IMAGE OF THE WEEK

image by Suburban Island

DETAILS: Coffee: iced caramel macchiato - extra caramel + Listening to: Montovani + Observing: a little snow + Thinking: Why can't weekends last longer? + Weather: promising a snowy night.

Today�s Suburban Strategy: Paige problem...

Today�s Scenic Cam: Library space.

3 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry