collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

REMARKABLE: My own dear dad - happy father's day!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Father's Day Shopping
Sunday, Jun. 15, 2003, 12:08 a.m.

QUESTION: Who doesn�t love a good Aloha shirt?

WHAT I LEARNED: Mom can get a good shopping expedition out of Father�s Day if she works it right.

My suitcase is still lying open on the floor belching clothes and a variety of other travel items onto the living room floor. Tomorrow is the day for unpacking. Today was the day for purchasing Father�s Day gifts as in � what did you kid think up to do for your dad since tomorrow is Father�s Day. Silence. I repeat the question. Silence.

A shopping trip ensues.

Stop One � The Cool Surf Shop. Here�s where we buy dad some great new t-shirts so we can throw out the old orange one he insists on wearing every time he pulls it out of the dryer � the one with the holes in it that we all hate. Everybody else buys something there too. Hey, it�s Father�s Day so we all need to celebrate with a purchase.

Stop Two - Sephora for some Father�s Day cologne of course. We did have to sample about 30 different scents on the women�s cologne side of the store but what�s another hour of shopping when your nose is having that much fun. I got him something that smells great and if he doesn�t like it, then I�m wearing it myself.

Stop Three � A specialty store where we find a water dispenser that looks like a mini water cooler (what dad wouldn't want that?), some flip-flops for my daughter, and a small gray felt elephant with a wobbly head that is meant to get stuck to your car dash for me which if I actually did so would send my husband into a state of apoplexy.

Stop Four � Hawaiian shirts anyone?

I have always wanted to buy my husband a Hawaiian shirt but I could never pull it off because he was always there to say no but not today. Today was my day to say yes to bold prints for men. My daughter and her friend talked me into it. I think they were right. If I were a guy, I would want to wear a Hawaiian shirt all weekend long. We know that this purchase might traumatize Dad initially but we�re hoping when he slips this comfortable and strangely hip shirt on, he will revel in our cleverness in thinking to make this purchase. Did I mention we bought him two?

They look kind of like this one but with more hula girls cavorting about.

And there's more. He�s going to get some flowers too, or maybe a fern or a hanging basket that we can hang out front and forget to water. Also, I say a balloon that says something original like - Happy Father�s Day, is never out of place.

Happy Father�s Day, hon. Isn�t fatherhood a blast? Now put on one of your brand new Aloha shirts and let�s head out for that special Father�s Day dinner. You can leave the balloon at home but don�t forget to water that plant on your way out the door.

DETAILS: Coffee:white chocolate mocha over ice x 2 + Listening to: afternoon thunderstorms and jazz + Observing: stormy skies and suitcases to unpack + Thinking: Father�s Day shopping must occur now + Weather: thunderstorms

Today�s Suburban Strategy: Words from famous dads in honor of Father�s Day....

2 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry