collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Cha-Cha Crazy
Wednesday, May. 05, 2004, 11:45 p.m.

QUESTION: Cha Cha anyone?

WHAT I LEARNED: You can take a shadow anywhere.

Are your kids well behaved in church? Are they sitting quietly while you are trying to soak in a few graces for the week to come? Well, you may want to take a closer look. I did. My son and I attended the noon Mass together this past Sunday. He was so well behaved. We sat up in the balcony section in the very first row. It was cool being able to look right down on all the other people who like us, waited until the last minute to get themselves to church but unlike us, had not gotten the bright idea to take the scenic route and head upstairs. Yes, we were a relaxed crowd, a rested crowd, and perhaps a crowd with a penchant for procrastination, but we were a crowd that had made it in under the wire. I, for one, felt a certain virtuous glow that extended to my well-behaved son. It wasn�t until near the end of the service that I realized that the spotlight-type lighting directly above our heads was a perfect environment for making shadows on the pews below us. How come I didn�t think of that? My son did.

My son said that he felt God was okay with him resting a comforting shadow hand over someone�s hand down below. Perhaps that�s true. God works in mysterious ways. In the meantime this gives new meaning to the use of shadow puppets. I�m going to work on them before next Sunday so I�m more prepared for next week�s Sunday noon Mass.

On another note � I have figured out that you can�t listen to a Cha-Cha melody and feel down. Pretty soon, you are shimmying your shoulders and thinking cheerful Cha-Cha thoughts. I know this because I bought an Ultra-Lounge Cha-Cha CD last week and have fallen in love with it. I played it for my son on the way home from Mass and he showed me how to put cool rapper hand and arm motions to it that really got our car rocking all the way to our relatively ordinary lunch of omelets and toast.

There�s nothing like a soon-to-be-15-year-old to put life in perspective for you.

Cha Cha Cha. Yo Yo Yo. And all that jazz.

Cha Cha Album Cover from Space Age Music

5 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry