collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

The Keys Are in the Car
Sunday, Nov. 23, 2003, 7:36 p.m.

QUESTION: Where are my car keys?

WHAT I LEARNED: Look before you slam.

image from www.netwrx1.com/CherryAmes/index.html

I need to make something clear right at the outset � I am not a nurse. I have never longed to be a nurse. I never read any of the Cherry Ames books growing up. I have never loved science beyond loving the idea of passing the science classes I needed to fulfill school requirements and then getting on with other things. I once passed out in a greenhouse during a botany class and everybody bought me ice cream afterward and asked me what it felt like to pass out - but that�s a different story. I admire nurses though and it�s an admiration brought on by true awe of their ability to do something important and valuable in an urgent environment and do it in an organized way. I do things � important and unimportant - in a quasi-urgent environment in a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants way. I am indeed envious of the clipboards, their seemingly unending patience, neat high tech gear, the cool uniforms and comfortable shoes they get to wear.

My husband had to go into the hospital Thursday for some prostate surgery. His prostate was enlarged and causing him some trouble. It is a pretty standard surgery but my husband is not a big fan of surgery and hospitals � both a component of addressing his enlarged prostate. I took a couple days off to hang out at the hospital with him and do what I could. That required some good pre-surgical pep talks, hanging around for hours in hospital waiting rooms drinking overpriced bottles of diet coke, sitting in the most uncomfortable chair in the world for hours on end for my bedside vigil, and buying a $35 flower arrangement in the gift shop for good measure.

It also involved a pre-surgery adventure. I call it the Keys Are in the Car Adventure. What happens in this adventure is that you place your purse with the car keys hanging out in plan sight on the back seat and then slam the door shut � locking your purse and keys inside immediately prior to the surgery. There are three great things about the Key Are in the Car Adventure:

  • The patient has no time to fixate on their surgery fears,
  • You get to ride in the security truck with the nice hospital security officers back to your car,
  • Someone breaks into your vehicle with good intent and you get to witness it,
  • You miss all the paperwork portion of the hospital check-in process.

This goes to prove that even when life bites you in the butt, you can create a successful outcome. For instance, my husband was gratified to know that his prostate is the largest enlarged prostate his surgeon has ever seen in all his years of practice. It almost makes it worth the surgery just to be able to tell that to all your pals. At least that�s what I told my husband to make him fell better while he was lying in the hospital in one of those gown with no back, looking at a $35 flower arrangement that could fit in a coffee mug, and eating a liquid lunch that featured little squares of red Jello for dessert.

5 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry