collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Yes, I am on vacation!
Thursday, Aug. 14, 2003, 12:50 a.m.

QUESTION: How's the beach?

WHAT I LEARNED: Half the fun is NOT in getting there.

Vacation Report � I had to find a way to get to my computer and update and indeed here I am with a short beach report. Yes, we are at the beach � finally.

I must say that one thing that always amazes me about vacations is that pulling off a fun-filled family holiday is no vacation at all for the coordinator. In fact, part of the reason that I probably need a vacation in the first place, is because I have the job of family vacation planner. It�s a tough gig but I get through it because I see the glimmer of the ocean and a beach chair and a paperback novel in my mind and the image leads me past every holiday planning hurdle like a small glimmering light at the end of a particularly long tunnel. I want my week in the sun and nothing is going to keep me from it.

Part of the problem is the inclination my husband has to see vacations as stress � at least in the pre-vacation stage. In fact, everyone in my household seems to require a pre-vacation meltdown. Dramas abound. Crisis is everywhere. It looks like fun but I never get to indulge in it.

The morning of the trip is like some kind of sporting event - a car race perhaps, where everyone else in the race is invisible, or maybe some kind of triathlon. I�m not sure but for some reason that I can�t understand, my husband feels there is a great rush to get underway. The pressure is on. Everybody better roll out of bed at an ungodly hour, throw on their clothes, hope to God they packed everything the night before, and run out to the car - as dad is racing behind them shutting the house up with impressive precision so fast that it will make your head whirl if you are foolish enough to look behind you as you run towards the car, pillow and toothbrush in hand. God forbid, you should get a last minute urge to pee. He may not let you if the bathroom is already ticked off on his list.

Likewise, on the flip side of our vacation there will be a great rush by my husband to return home while everyone else wants to dawdle and draw out the last day. The entire crew will have to negotiate with dad to squeeze the final drops of sunshine, sand, outlet visits, and beach pizza out of the trip. It�s always a tough process but since we are not there yet, I am not going to worry about it for the moment. We are still in boardwalk heaven and there is a full moon shining over the water tonight.

I have to go now, as I am being summoned to make cookies. I don�t mind at all because I am on vacation!

Still at the beach - keep those nice notes and kind guestbook entries coming.

3 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry