collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

SAD NEWS: Goodbye to our friend Axel

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

PIECES OF YOU: IF I WERE AN ANIMAL...
Tuesday, Aug. 05, 2003, 8:44 a.m.

QUESTION: And what kind of animal would you like to be?

WHAT I LEARNED: We can learn things from the animals that aren't written in the how-to books.

If I were an animal I would be more relaxed or perhaps I would just not realize that I was tense. I could enjoy the sunshine like a lizard lounging on a rock. I could revel in the rain like the earthworms that you see on the sidewalk after a big soaking storm. I could feel myself lifted up on a soft breeze like a yellow butterfly. I could attack the reflection of danger like an angry mockingbird. I can run across a green field with perfect flowing hair like a sleek mare. I could dart through the water like a golden fish. I could stand peacefully in the sunshine like a cow in a field of daisies. I could have the cutest ass ever like a cottontail rabbit hopping languidly through the back garden. I could be silly as a squirrel in love and glorious as the first robin in spring. I could be sleepy like a bear in winter and no one would dare complain. I could be clever as the red fox that lived in the high weeds behind our neighbor�s house and come and go exactly as I please. I could be as cheerful as the chipmunks that dart across our lawn and just as carefree.

But I am not a lizard or a mockingbird. I am not a yellow butterfly or the first robin of spring. I do not have the cutest ass in the world like the sweet brown bunnies that eat our daisies in the summer. My hair will never fly behind me like the sleek mare running across the flower-strewn field. I am just me � a suburbanite with 2 kids, a husband, a job, a home, and the standard responsibilities that come with all of that. I am domesticated but without the ambling disregard for rules and responsibilities of any proper house cat and I rarely just curl up for an impromptu nap like a faithful family dog might do mid-afternoon even though I am sure it would do me the world of good.

I could learn something from the animals.

toybox animals font found at www.identifont.com/

0 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry