collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Tornado Warning on Idol Night
Tuesday, May. 25, 2004, 10:07 p.m.

QUESTION: Can't a mother ever get a few moments of peace and quiet?

WHAT I LEARNED: Mother Nature does what she wants, when she wants.

Mother Nature has a sense of humor. That, or she is not an America Idol fan. We are really hooked on the show in this house and we were looking forward to the big showdown tonight between the two final singers.

When the phone rang 15 minutes into the show, I was annoyed. What's wrong with these telephonic sales folks? What friend of mine would dare breach the American Idol hour? Evidently neither deserved my Idol ire. And who was it then? It was my brother giving me notice that there was a news report of a tornado touching down in our area. Maybe that's why the sky looked rather green tonight. Scary, and worse, it was cutting into our Idol time.

Tornado Warning Sky by Suburban Island's youngest kid

I contacted my daughter at a friend�s house several times, causing her to insist that I not call her again until after the storm. I checked in with a friend whose bad day tempted him to embrace the idea of his house being blown away with a certain soaring gusto. I watched the Doppler radar images that interrupted our 1-hour of fun with the patience that comes with a real concern for not getting sucked into a freak tornado. I can see the headlines now - woman watching Idol gets sucked out of chair before casting vote. That wasn't going to happen to me.

Finally, the news cut back to the programming. Singers sang. Audiences clapped. Family members were shushed. The tornado warning and bad storm system passed by. The TV was shut off. Dialing began. We had made it through the storm and the show and were still here to tell the tale.

And the good news is, I can call my teenage daughter again, my house is still sitting on its foundation, and my friend�s house didn�t fly away even though for a moment of two they kind of wanted it to. Additionally, thanks to Mother Nature, American Idol, was a little more exciting than the show�s producers could ever have imagined.

Thanks, Mom!

6 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry