collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

May the Luck of the Irish Enfold You
Wednesday, Mar. 17, 2004, 10:04 p.m.

QUESTION: Were you wearing the green today?

WHAT I LEARNED: Everyone's a little Irish today.

Happy St. Patrick�s Day to all!

I love St. Patrick because he knew how to put together a Lorica like no other, he had a bad rep with snakes as relates to the Emerald Isle, and he took a setback and turned it into an advantage � being wisked off to Ireland once as a prisoner and slave - changing travel agencies and coming back on a different travel package with some amazing results.

The Lorica is a bit long-winded but I like this part and since it is St. Patrick�s Day I will quote it �

I arise today
Through God's strength to pilot me;
God's might to uphold me,
God's wisdom to guide me,
God's eye to look before me,
God's ear to hear me,
God's word to speak for me,
God's hand to guard me,
God's way to lie before me,
God's shield to protect me,
God's hosts to save me�

As to the writing of the Lorica, the chasing away of the snakes, and the indeed the whole story of his life - some parts are surely the stuff of truth and other parts as surely the stuff of great fireside tales that inspire the heart or make the imagination soar. Maybe he didn�t write all the Lorica on his own or chase all the snakes off the Isle. I don�t think it matters. No one can live a life as rich with adventure, action, and commitment to faith, or create such a substantial impact of society, without a few good legends wrapped around their history.

So happy St. Patrick�s Day and this traditional Irish Blessing to each and every one:

May the road rise to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face.
And rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the hollow of His hand.

“St.

2 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry