collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Friday Five: Shopping
Sunday, Nov. 30, 2003, 4:41 p.m.

QUESTION: Why not shop?

WHAT I LEARNED: Shopping am I.

1. Do you like to shop? Why or why not?

Like to shop? I love to shop - when the shopping mood strikes me. It�s solitary. It�s social. Sometimes it�s an adventure. Sometimes it�s a chore. I can only take so much of sporting goods and hardware stores as any male I have accompanied to these stores can tell you. However, I have a soft spot for grocery shopping. Bookstores, music stores, and stores with big parking lots, blue light specials, and concession stands up front also appeal.

2. What was the last thing you purchased?

Holiday gifts. In order to purchase these, my son and I had to endure a pre-holiday shopping speech from my husband � we get one every year - about not going on a holiday purchasing bender. After dutifully listening we left dad at home (luckily he�s still recuperating from surgery and can�t police our shopping expeditions), put the pedal to the metal and headed out to do some serious shopping. All memory of his warning words flew out of our minds like so much burning rubber on the racetrack of holiday shopping that is Thanksgiving weekend. It was a beautiful day in the neighborhood and we were going shopping. Daddy - look out.

What did we get? These most recent purchases included a vintage style air popcorn machine which my son swears he needs to cool up his room, an amazing neon pink martin glass light that my daughter stole from my wish list, assorted can�t-go-wrong DVDs including the boxed Indiana Jones set for my husband (it was on sale and he does loves those action flicks), as well as the delightful Bruce Almighty, just out in the stores. Oh yes, and one really necessary purchase � a new microwave � since our long-suffering microwave took one soft Camille-like breath and expired without a word of warning on Saturday night. The microwave is dead; long live the microwave.

3. Do you prefer shopping online or at an actual store? Why?

I prefer to shop in an actual store with the exception of eBay. With Ebay, who knows what I�ll purchase. The last thing I won at auction was a watch that�s really a remote control for the TV (this one is for my 14 year old son who discovered these during his eBay browsing).

4. Did you get an allowance as a child? How much was it?

Yes, I did and I did chores to earn it too. I can�t remember the amount but Paris Hilton would have been traumatized by it.

5. What was the last thing you regret purchasing?

It will probably be the remote control watch that will soon be arriving in the mail or perhaps the vintage style popcorn popper now stashed under a chair in the family room. However, right at this moment as I scan my surroundings, my eyes are drawn back to the Deluxe Edition of Learning French with Michel Thomas, a set of language CDs I purchased a while back. I�ll never use them but at the time I bought them I was still harboring memories of a recent Parisian trip, which imbued me with a sudden desire to learn some basic French. I don�t believe it�s really going to happen since you actually have to put the CDs in and listen to them until your eyes cross.

England anyone?

2 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry