collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Last Repair for Gordon
Saturday, Sept. 27, 2003, 8:17 p.m.

QUESTION: Who was Gordon Jump?

WHAT I LEARNED: Ads are people too.

image from www.maytag.com

We are saying goodbye to so many people lately - John Ritter, Johnny Cash, Robert Palmer. Now, in my quest for refrigerator knowledge, I have discovered the sad news that a favorite cultural icon of daily living and the simple suburban enterprise of uncomplicated and reliable washing, drying, cooling, and cooking, has departed for his heavenly home as well. His name was Gordon Jump.

Gordon Jump was someone you knew even if you have never heard of him. Gordon was the man behind the lonely Maytag repairman ads. The Maytag lonely repairman ads began running in 1967, which is why I feel like a little piece of my past has just slipped away. Gordon Jump, in his crisp blue repairman suit with matching cap and bright red bow tie, has been peering out at me in lady's magazines and keeping me company on commercial breaks for a good chunk of my existence on this mortal plane.

This seems to be happening more and more often - this lose of my personal cultural touchpoints - or maybe it just seems that way as I get older. And it is interesting that even though I don't really know any of these people personally, I have a personal attachment to them because they have held a small place in my life at some point, like small distinct threads woven through the cloth that is my daily life. They are part of me in that they form a tiny piece of my daily experience, and as such they cannot be dismissed as unimportant. I for one, am going to miss the unfortunate repairman with no repairs calls to make. Meanwhile, it looks like we are going to buy a Maytag refrigerator - a small testament perhaps to Gordon Jump and one of the longest successful ad campaigns in history.

Who knows - maybe when Ol' Lonely hits his heavenly home, it will come with a suite of heavenly Maytag products just for old time's sake.

Today�s Suburban Strategy: Are you under-appreciated?

7 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry