collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Up in the Air
Thursday, Feb. 26, 2004, 7:46 p.m.

QUESTION: What did I forget to pack?

WHAT I LEARNED: Don't count on meals or bathroom breaks in the big blue sky.

Things are changing in the friendly skies...

For instance, I � an average traveler of the airways � know by now that I am going to have to take off my shoes and sashay barefoot or be-socked through the security area. It changes your foot logic if you know what I mean � good socks or at least flip-flop-ready feet are in order winter, summer, spring or fall when it comes to airport security walk-throughs.

I know some other important things too like not to bother with jewelry, wear a bra that doesn�t have a metal underwire even if underwire bras are your very lifeblood. That�s what plastics are for on flying days. Tweeze, clip, cut, and snip pre-travel because you can�t bring those basic grooming tools with you anymore. Gotta go? Better hit the bathroom before you get on the plane because you aren�t getting out of that seat for 30 minutes on either side of the ride. I�m a big believer in pre-flight bathroom stops so this is no problem for me. Crawling over 2 other seated passengers to get to the potty and peeing with the sound of air rushing away right under my butt is not my idea of high flying anyway. I�ll wait, thanks. Sadly, another poor woman was not as wise as I. She was asked to sit back down - the unfortunate collusion of turbulence and in air hydration had put her in an uncomfortable situation for that last 1/2 hour of the flight.

Remember all that whining we�ve done about the lousy airplane food for so many years? No worries. You just don�t get food anymore unless you've got some cash on hand, grab some carry out before take off, or pack your own. Did you know that Wolfgang Puck has a catering gig going on US Airways? I didn�t. Ten dollars, please.

And hey, have a great flight.

4 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry