collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

The Big 5-0
Wednesday, Nov. 05, 2003, 8:54 a.m.

QUESTION: What's in a number?

WHAT I LEARNED: Fifty can be fun.

What is it about those decade birthdays � 30, 40, 50 and beyond - that feels momentous? You see it coming from a long way off � that birthday with a big zero trailing behind it - and it is just roaring straight towards you. No matter what you do, the big something-0 day does arrive and suddenly whether you like it or not, you are of a whole new age. One of my friends was surprised that I revealed here in my diary what my real age was, as if I was giving away some anonymous facet of myself. I understand her concern since everyone is supposed to be perpetually young in our culture but that�s no more real that Pamela Lee�s breasts or a proper pro wrestling match.

Really, the fact that I have now crossed the official 50 line is not a shameful thing and is entirely worthy of a diary entry (maybe several). I worked very hard to get here and it is quite a blessing � one that it is easy to take for granted � to be walking around watching my kids grow up and to have another day unfold before me each morning. Also, writing a diary and reading other�s diaries has really underlined for me how much age is indeed a state of mind. For me, being young at heart will always be a priority but even if it were not, when you turn 50 it doesn�t really feel very different than when you turned 30 or 40. Strangely you wake up on a big 5-0 birthday feeling remarkably like you did the day before. It�s almost a let down. That is until the first black balloons arrive. You have to love those.

I should know. I had a black balloon floating like a neon sign over my table last night at a very fancy restaurant for the entire meal. It was okay though because I did get a cr�me caramel with a bright pink candle in the middle of it after dinner. Also, my pals sprung for the delicious meal and produced presents and cards throughout. I am grateful for them for making a fuss at 50. It rounded out my birthday celebrations. With their help, I had the perfect 0 year birthday. Carry out Chinese, a Disney movie (Holes), and ice cream cake at home - with cards, presents and red roses on Monday. A gracious feast with dear friends on Tuesday. And today, lunch with dad downtown � Indian cuisine I think. This weekend we are topping it off by attending a matinee dinner theater performance of Camelot with my parents. So you see I negotiated fried rice and the dinner theater as my official birthday dinner � a two for one deal - thus stretching out my birthday adventures for an entire week. Now that�s using your 50�s noggin.

Yes, it�s good to be 50 and I have a feeling it�s going to get better all the time. However, I must admit that I particular liked the card my brother sent, in which he wished me a great 39th birthday � again.

Thanks to all my Diaryland friends, whom I count so dear, for all the delightful birthday greetings and wishes over the last few days! And remember, if anyone asks you how old I am just say � her, she�s just a kid.

15 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry