collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Friday Five: 5 Fives
Friday, Nov. 21, 2003, 11:44 p.m.

QUESTION: Should old acquaintance be forgot and never brought to mind?

WHAT I LEARNED: I'd do a lot of cool stuff if I won the lottery.

1. List five things you'd like to accomplish by the end of the year.

By the stroke of midnight on December 31st, I�d like to accomplish the following:

  • Get my Christmas cards sent out before Christmas instead of after,
  • Stop purchasing slices of fruitcake and cartons of lite eggnog by New Year�s Eve,
  • Convince my husband that back-to-back episodes of Trading Spaces, While You Were Out, and Clean Sweep are a good thing � this task may extend into the new year,
  • Have loads of holiday family fun,
  • Find out how to insert the chore gene into my kids before I have to apply for indentured servant status.

2. List five people you've lost contact with that you'd like to hear from again.

  • My best friend in junior high school. Her name was Ralphine � really. Her family listened to country music when it wasn�t cool. She had a restaurant booth in her rec room. I loved her. I have no idea where Ralph is now but I�d enjoy catching up with her. She had a way of making simple things fun. We once sat on a railing and waved to passing cars for hours just to count up our return waves. Where can you find entertainment like that today?
  • My cousin, Susan. I loved my cousin and used to visit her in the summers up in the suburban wilds of Connecticut. We ate a lot of peanut butter on saltine crackers, swam like goldfish in their above ground pool, built card cities out of oversized flash cards, and listened to Motown on transistor radios while taking long walks.
  • My old sorority sister, Sally. We had a lot of fun being cool sorority girls and she once came close to strangling an unfaithful boyfriend of mine with his scarf for making me cry. You have to love a friend like that. I bet he thought twice before wearing a scarf while being a cad after that.
  • And I miss some Diaryland friends too. What happen to dcalien, ehadams, hey4eyes,and puckle?

3. List five things you'd like to learn how to do.

  • Play jazz piano
  • Knit up a storm
  • Dancing � as in ballroom, baby
  • Grow a fabulous garden
  • Develop patience

4. List five things you'd do if you won the lottery (no limit).

  • Travel for pleasure� first destinations: Hawaii, Alaska, and Disneyland with a Universal Studios and Sea World chaser.
  • Give my house a make-over from floorboards to rafters � without having to trade spaces with anybody.
  • And while my home was being transformed, I would finally be able to write my novel (or novels) on a glorious new laptop that is mine alone.
  • And since I wouldn�t have to do the 9 � 5, maybe I could do some relaxing things like spa days, hanging around in the garden (if not with pruning sheers then with an iced tea on the new enclosed deck that will be installed during my home redo), taking some fun classes, going to the gym and working out with my personal trainer, and heading out for a few spiritual retreat weekends just to round things out.
  • Do some good � donate to those lovely Poor Clares who spend so much time praying for others, volunteer some time to a good cause, and generally try to pitch in a bit more.

5. List five things you do that help you relax.