collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

12 Hours at Ten Cents a Minute
Friday, Jul. 18, 2003, 12:20 a.m.

QUESTION: Did you disconnect your computer today?

WHAT I LEARNED: Never forget how great your kids are.

Today is my last evening in Seattle. I am still digging the Space Needle. I have eaten some amazingly good food, visited marketplaces, walked through an aquarium, taken boat rides, admired mountains, marveled at the sunsets over the water, watched ferries move like swans across the rippled Puget Sound, walked up some big hills, and climbed more steps than I could count. I have drunk a lot of good Seattle coffee and I have gotten up earlier every day than I would like.

My daughter has been able to come along on this work trip with me which has made it even busier for me but also more wonderful for me. It is so much fun to have her here with me. I need someone to encourage me as I climbed up all those flights of steps and to find that stupid little plastic credit card sized key to the room that is always getting lost in my purse. I am glad to have such a great shopping partner too. She has taste and fashion sense. It's like having a fashion consultant on hand. She's great for sharing a bite of her dessert as well - an invaluable quality in a daughter.

More than this, she is a great encouragement when I do something stupid like accidently leaving my computer connected for 12 hours at ten cents a minute. She is the one who tells me that this happens to everyone once in a while when I am kicking myself mentally. She is the one who talks me into asking for them to remove the charge when I am sure they will not. And you know what - I did ask and they did remove it.

I'm one lucky mom.

4 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry