collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

New Year's Day 2005
Saturday, Jan. 01, 2005, 11:59 p.m.

QUESTION: 2000-what?

WHAT I LEARNED: Time flies when you're having fun.

January 1st. It�s the fresh clean start of a fresh clean year. I haven�t broken any resolutions yet � although I haven�t really gotten around to making them yet. I haven�t been late for work, yelled at the kids, gotten annoyed at little irritations in life, whined about stuff just because whining feels so good sometimes, or done anything else non-virtuous - yet. That�s what I love about January 1st. It�s so new, it�s not old.

I have been off from work on vacation since December 16th. I usually try to take time off near the end of the year. My husband does too. The kids are off from school and the house is busy and buzzing but chilled out with holiday cheer and the residuals of it. It�s been nice.

I�ve found that there's nothing like a nice long stretch of days off around the holidays. It takes the stress and strain off all the uber-holiday chores and it gives some time for just sleeping, relaxing, and recharging. This year was really a different type of vacation for me because we actually took a vacation. It made for a more hectic December but I think it did us good individually and a family unit. It reminded us of other good times we've had on family vacations and created new memories for us as well.

We are still tying up the end of the holiday season now. We won�t put away our decorations just yet but very soon they will be down for another year. Tonight we had friends over for a late season gift exchange and a buffet of leftover New Year�s Eve fare � still very tasty.

Now work looms again and the decorations will soon come down for another year. I can't really sigh about it because I have really gotten so much enjoyment out of the holidays this year. I am lucky and blessed in this. However, I realize that I have to gear up again for real life and tomorrow is the last day left of vacation so I guess it is going to have to do as my ready-set-go period before the clocks tick past Sunday night into Monday morning. Life is getting back to normal.

They say the first day back to work is the worst. We�ll see.

Happy New Year!

8 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry