collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

REMARKABLE: My husband in a Hawaiian shirt.

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Friday Five: What ifs and What thens
Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2003, 11:29 p.m.

QUESTION: Where�s my ticket to Hawaii?

WHAT I LEARNED: I�m happy that I don�t have gym class anymore.

1. What's one thing you've always wanted to do, but never have?

I�ve always wanted to take a trip to Hawaii. I hope I can do this soon because until I do, I seem to be compelled to collect all manner of hula figures instead.

2. When someone asks your opinion about a new haircut/outfit/etc, are you always honest?

I think that sometimes being honest can be confused with being rude. After all, the hair can grow out and the outfit can be given away but cruel words can stick in a person's mind for a long time. So, I try to be diplomatic when I am asked about something that doesn�t work from my perspective because I believe, if you really try, you can tell people things in a way that doesn�t make them want to curl up in a ball and sob until their hair grows out. If someone is going to walk out the door in an awful outfit, then guide them to a better one if possible. If they are already out in it, then help them to make the best of it. We shouldn�t have to be perfect all the time and often it�s just a matter of personal style anyway. If they look great and the change is a good one, they don�t have to ask for my opinion because I am going to tell them. That�s the easy part of being honest that sometimes gets lost in the rush of the day.

3. Have you ever found out something about a friend and then wished you hadn't? What happened?

A long time after I was out of college, I found out that one of my college roommates was not into guys. I was a little bit bummed because she was the only girl who seemed to be able to tell her guy to get lost if he was being a jerk � and we were all so impressed with her emotional self-discipline. No wonder she didn�t care if she had to put a boot to his butt and kicked him out the door at the first false move.

I wasn�t sorry to find it out, just a bit surprised since she�d had a steady boyfriend all through college and it looks like they were set to be married. I am sure he was more surprised than any of us though.

What happened? We stayed friends for many years but, unfortunately, she tied up with a string of women who were not particularly friendly to people from B. T. (before them) and we eventually lost touch.

4. If you could live in any fictional world (from a book/movie/game/etc.) which would it be and why?

I have a few places fictional worlds that I�d like to visit once in a while - as long as I could come and go as I please.

  • Wonderland of course. It would be fun to tumble down a rabbit hole and hang out with Alice. And wouldn�t it be amazing to climb up on the mantel and see what�s really on the other side of the mirror.
  • I�d like to walk around in a Jane Austen novel and soak in some of that genteel grace that her characters exude and simply revel in the quieter pace of life that is now quite lost to us.
  • Sims please. I�d just like to build a little Sims house, decorate it with little Sims stuff, create my little Sims self, and then just relax. My favorite part of Sims living � the cool retro music. Best of all, if you are having a really lousy day, you can just not save the game. Wouldn�t that be a great real-life option?

5. What's one talent/skill you don't have but always wanted?

I wish I was more athletic so I wasn�t always the last kid to have been picked for any sports teams in gym class. Luckily, those days are long past although a hint of the trauma still lingers. No aerobics classes for me. All those other chicks have the moves down better than me - shades of high school gym class.

DETAILS: Coffee:white chocolate mocha + Listening to: Mozart and funky Sims background music + Observing: new Sims Superstar expansion pack played by kid & my husband walking through front door in new aloha shirt + Thinking: He looks pretty good in that crazy shirt + Weather: more rain

Today�s Suburban Strategy: Are you a post-it artist?

0 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry