collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Suprise Signage
Friday, May. 30, 2003, 9:27 a.m.

Question: And where did you shop today?

What I Learned: Dressing rooms can be dangerous to your dignity.

Yesterday, I decided to stop at Target straight after work. I love Target because:

  • you never have to get dressed up
  • it doesn�t matter if your nail polish is chipped
  • you can buy the National Enquirer and nobody looks shocked
  • hot pretzels and popcorn are available
  • they have those great retro commercials where somebody sings Sweet Happy Life

While there, I tried on a pair of cropped pants that caught my eye. I popped into the dressing room, flung on the pants, and satisfied that they looked fine for running up to get a cup of coffee or picking up some groceries, I hastily pulled my suit skirt back on and headed for the register. Another job well done. I am so fast and efficient today. Nothing is getting by me. I feel especially self-satisfied as I happily grasp my bag and stride out of the store towards my car, secure that tomorrow I will have a pair of pants to knock around in that are not made of heavy winter fabric for a change. How easy is this?

A few minutes later, I arrive at my second destination. I hop out of my car and I hear someone say to me in the most dignified and polite voice � ma�am, I think you have something stuck to the back of your skirt. I reach back and there - stuck firmly to the back of my suit - is what looks to be a small peel-back adhesive backing from � gasp� a sanitary napkin. I pull it off of my rear end with an embarrassed thank you and as much grace as I can muster up. Another Target dressing room disaster has just played out in suburbia. One of the many faceless victims of such tricks of fate, I have just been rescued by the simple kindness of a stranger from parading around the mall for an hour with something unseemly plastered to my backside. It doesn�t erase the fact however, that I had sashayed around Target with a questionable sort of ad for a feminine hygiene product glued to my bottom. Nor does it make up for the fact that I had done so with a degree of confidence that I am sure even Always wouldn�t have anticipated.

Indeed, ignorance can be bliss but sometimes a little knowledge can go a long way in this life. And the next time you try something on in that dressing room, make sure you give yourself a quick once over in the mirror on the way out. It�s not vanity � it�s sanity.

DETAILS: Coffee: white chocolate mocha + Listening to: jazz compilations + Observing: flowers blooming + Thinking: I need to spray the roses + Weather: sunshine

Today�s Suburban Strategy: Got a dog? Get some advice...

8 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry