collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Friday Five - Brands
Friday, May. 23, 2003, 5:02 p.m.

Question: Who bought the cardboard?

What I Learned: It's better to have soft toilet tissue than a pair of designer shoes.

1. What brand of toothpaste do you use?

Anything that says advanced whitening makes me feel like I am really on the cutting edge of toothpaste technology. Stand up tubes are better than classic tubes, which have been known to destroy marriages simply through one or both partners' improper toothpaste squeezing and capping techniques. Personally I think toothpastes that are striped are enticing because somehow it makes me feel like maybe I am getting two great toothpaste experiences in one. Finally, I'm a sucker for toothpaste with sparkles.

2. What brand of toilet paper do you prefer?

Good one - the toilet tissue purchasing battle is always looming on the horizon here. In our house, it's Charmin, Cottonelle or the highway - at least from everybody's perspective but my husband�s. He seems to take great satisfaction in off brand toilet tissue purchases. We never let him out of the house with a shopping list without specifying the brand for toilet tissue, facial tissue, and ear swabs - since these three items seem to send an alien buy-off-brand message from head, to hand, to cart, faster than you can say - stop the bargain buying. We have had bad experiences with almost-cardboard toilet paper, sandpaper kleenex tissues, and ear swabs with cotton tips that unravel when they sense the first sign of impending impact with an ear, due to his questionable purchasing decisions in all three of these product areas.

3. What brand(s) of shoes do you wear?

Brand-smand. Whatever I like from wherever I happen to see them. I do think those shoes that you can play basketball in while you're dressed up in a business suit are a must for work. As soon as I can, I switch to sandals - flat or heels - and stay in them until it's just too cold to wear them another day. Designer shoes � never.

4. What brand of soda do you drink? Coke please - diet coke to be exact. I did have a fling once with DietRite but that was a long time ago and I don't exactly know what brought it to an end.

5. What brand of gum do you chew?

Cinnamon is best - any kind. My earliest memory of chewing gum is Dentyne Red which I still really love as it immediately summons up a long ago summer day when I was just a wee gum-chewer.

DETAILS: Coffee: white chocolate mocha + Listening to: myself coughing and what the cabdriver said + Observing: many presentations and a very big library + Weather: Many raindrops + Watching: Nothing!

Today's Suburban Strategy Highlight:
Riding the rails? Shhh�

1 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry