collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Egg Timer
Thursday, Apr. 03, 2003, 12:12 a.m.

Question: Where is the egg timer?

What I Learned: Just roll over and go back to sleep.

12:30 a.m. � Tired mother finds note on floor by bedroom door on lined notebook paper. The notebook paper means the note is from one of her kids. The husband writes on back of envelopes or work notebooks that wife accidentally leaves open on desk in study - causing later annoyance in workplace as it is scrawled on sheet with other important information and cannot be torn out.

The note-writing teenager has probably stayed up past midnight doing homework while intermittently addressing requisite social duties. The tired mother is glad she got the maxed-out cell phone family plan with unlimited evening minutes as it is a strong possibility that the teenager has been on the cell phone until after midnight even though teenager swore that they were heading straight for bed an hour before.

The note says � Mom (or perhaps Dad) � Please wake me up @ 6:15 so I can - fill in the blank:

  • Get a coffee on my way to school
  • Do something with my hair
  • Finish schoolwork
  • Accomplish some other necessary chore that just can�t be done before heading off to bed

Note that the key phrase here is �please wake me up.� The given here is that a parent must get up to get up the kid. It might also be noted that Daddy is likely already up so he is not traumatized as much by this note as good old mom.

At 6:15 a.m., duty calls. I find myself fighting back yawns and may make a sad attempt to call out for the kid. It�s fruitless, as you might imagine. Nothing will do but that I drag myself from the comforts of a bed not slept in long enough to really wake up this kid. When I get to the bedroom door I steel myself. The response is invariably: Can I sleep another 5, 10, 15, or 20 minutes? I know I shouldn�t be taken in so easily in the first place and being constantly sleep deprived myself I am a sucker for those who beg for a few more minutes sleep.

On bad days, I can�t find the egg timer which makes for a very cranky groggy mother because I don�t dare go back to sleep. On good days, the timer and I cuddle up together. On the days in between, the already awake husband chimes in chirpily with wake up calls just as I�m getting those few extra zzzs - egg timer still lovingly cupped in my hands like an egg about to hatch.

That�s how life is � one minute you are holding an egg timer like it�s a little blue speckled egg and the next moment it is squawking in your hand in the most obnoxious manner. I know it might seem that an alarm clock might do the trick here but for some reason in our house it doesn�t work. Besides, what would I tell the egg timer?


I�m going to bed now and if there is a little note on the floor by the door to my room, I am going to just step right over it like I didn�t see it at all. I'm sure the egg timer will understand. Tomorrow, I'm getting 5 more minutes of sleep.

1 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry