collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Friday Five - If I Could
Saturday, Mar. 22, 2003, 12:19 a.m.

Question: Can I borrow a cup of Calgon?

What I Learned: There is no Enjoli in this house.

1. If you had the chance to meet someone you've never met, from the past or present, who would it be?
I�d like to know my great-grandmothers as younger women. I think it would be fascinating to get a glimpse of their lives. One of the values of the diary is that it is a window to the everyday life that is so often lost over the course of time. This is true even in trying to remember the ins-and-outs of our own lives. So many times when I read an old diary entry, I find myself surprised by what I read � oh yeah, I did think that, say that, feel that way. Also, because one day is stacked over the next and the next, all those interesting ordinary details of life just get forgotten as we press on in life. I have heard of people who have the diary of a grandparent to read. Unfortunately my great-grandmoms were just not the diary-writing types.

2. If you had to live in a different century, past or future, which would it be?
It would not be: During the Roman Empire � too many lions, chariot races, and dissolute emperors, and then of course there�s that whole Ides of March thing. It would not be during medieval times because Suburban Island in those days was probably an acre of dirt, serfdom, and a little bread and gruel. It would not be the Civil War period because my waist isn�t small enough and it is likely I would embarrass myself if I had to wear a hoop skirt. The Puritan era also seems like a bad fit for me.

I can see myself in three places: In the future because I could have an electronic house that cleaned itself and treated me like a queen to boot � my current model is self-disordering and totally ignores me. In the middle ages after all because maybe I�d luck out and get to live in a castle and hang out with a guy who knows how to wear body armor, calls me milady, and always looks like a LOTR hero. In the 1940�s because they had the music right, knew what romance was, and rode out the tough times.

3. If you had to move anywhere else on Earth, where would it be?
An island of course! One with palm trees, beach with rolling surf, a light breeze blowing, perfect sunsets, more sunshine than rain, a big hammock, and a recipe book for exotic cocktails and no-fuss dinners, and lots of stars in the nighttime sky. Throw in a few books and some electronics � I need my computer after all. Perfection.

4. If you had to be a fictional character, who would it be?
First, here is who it would not be. Madame Bovary � sometimes you just need to straighten up and fly right. Joan of Arc � sword-wielding action and getting burnt at the stake is just too high stress for me.

I could see the Maid Marion thing � it�s got just the right mix of adventure, romance, and the legendary. Some people might say she was the real deal and she might be but there is a lot of glorious fiction wrapped around her persona at this point. A scrappy heroine in a Georgette Heyer Regency Romance would be an option. It�s fun to be audacious and still wind up with the guy and fancy living too. Finally, how about that lady in the old commercial who could cook stuff in a pan, please her man, take care of the whole family, and kick butt at work just because she wore Enjoli perfume? I�d like to find out how she does that. And you know that Calgon-take-me-away chick? I think that could work for me too.

5. If you had to live with having someone else's face as your own for the rest of your life, whose would it be?
I�m attached to my face for all it�s flaws so I think I�ll just stick with it.

1 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry